Burritos!! And a quick tomatillo salsa…

One of the things that I absolutely love about the Green City Market, other than the fact that it is basically outside my apartment door, is that I go and just buy what looks good, then figure out what to make with it.

Last week I was down to my last dollar and I saw a sign for Poblanos: 3 for $1 and I thought, “mmm perfect.” Then I got on Epicurious and found the perfect recipe.   I tinkered with it a little bit and added a can of black beans and used fresh corn (also from Green City) instead of frozen, and switched the taco sauce for the salsa below.  The filling was AWESOME.  Dave and I had them for dinner on Sunday.  Then I had them again for lunch and dinner on Monday.  I have to pack my lunch and dinner because I am in class or at work from 9am to 10pm and these burritos kept me full and satisfied.   I even brought the last bit of filling with me on Tuesday and Brian (one of my law school friends) ate it cold and thought it was mighty tasty.  This recipe is a keeper and will be put into regular rotation.

Modified from Epicurious: Chicken Burritos with Poblano Chiles and Corn
3 tablespoons olive oil
3 medium-size fresh poblano chiles, seeded, chopped (about 1 1/2 cups)
1 1/2 pounds skinless boneless chicken breast cut crosswise into 1/2-inch-thick strips
1 3/4 teaspoons ground cumin
1 3/4 teaspoons chili powder
Corn from 2-3 cobs (approx. 2 cups)
1 cup of canned black beans, drained
6 burrito-size flour tortillas
2 cups grated four-cheese Mexican blend
1 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add poblano chiles; sauté until beginning to soften, about 3 minutes. Add chicken, cumin, and chili powder; sprinkle with salt and pepper. sauté until chicken is almost cooked through, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in corn; sauté until heated through, about 1 minute. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Remove from heat; cover to keep warm.

Working with 1 tortilla at a time, heat tortillas over open flame or electric burner until beginning to soften and brown in spots, about 15 seconds per side. Spoon chicken mixture in strip down center of each tortilla; top with cheese and cilantro. Fold in sides of tortilla over filling; roll up, enclosing filling.

I also made a quick Tomatillo Salsa that was perfect on these burritos.

Tomatillo Salsa: From Real Simple July 2008
1 pound tomatillos, husks removed
1 jalapeño, seeded
1 cup fresh cilantro leaves
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

In a food processor, pulse the tomatillos, jalapeño, cilantro, lime juice, and 1/2 teaspoon salt until finely chopped.

One response to “Burritos!! And a quick tomatillo salsa…

  1. I bet this has a wonderful flavor combination with those poblanos! And then the tomatillos…how awesome.

Leave a Reply

