Weekend Adventures

This weekend was eventful for a variety of reasons.  Friday night I managed to almost chop of the tip of my thumb chopping up a bell pepper for salad.  I especially liked the makeshift gauze and packing tape bandage.  It has healed pretty nicely so no worries.

Ouch.

Ouch.

On Saturday, I hit up GreenCity like always and came home with some goodies, including an associate bunch of peppers.

Goodies.

Goodies.

I remembered seeing a post about pickling hot peppers and since I found such a pretty assortment at the market, I decided to give it a try. In the middle of the cutting, I quickly remembered that I almost cut a chunk off my thumb the night before. Needless to say, peppers + healing wound = ouch.

Peppers.

Peppers.

Pickling.

Pickling.

Then on Sunday, Dave and I got up at 5AM to volunteer at the Chicago Marathon. We worked at the Fleet Feet Sports Aid Station that is right by our apartment in Old Town. It was a blast. It was so inspiring to see the wide range of people running and the tremendous elite athletes racing in the event. It makes me wonder if I could commit to training for a fullhalf marathon ;-). I think I might enjoy the longer distances because I really start to get into a running grove after 3 miles or so. 5Ks just don’t cut it.

Stacked.

Stacked.

Dumped.

Dumped.

Happy.

Happy.

2 responses to “Weekend Adventures

  1. Looks delicious! They were easier to make than I anticipated.

  2. Pingback: pickling « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

