“Yea, I like Texas”

TCU Horned Frog!

TCU Horned Frog!

I spent last weekend in Fort Worth for my 3rd TCU Homecoming as an Alum (how has time gone so freakin’ fast?)  which is why I have been MIA for the week (and 10/28′s TWD)

I had a whole lot of fun.  My mom came up with my car (Civic!) and we spent the weekend having fun together.  Back in college, my Mom was still working and traveling for Immucor so I was able to see her on a pretty regular basis (every 4-6 weeks).  Now that I live in Chicago it has turned into seeing her a few times a year, so I really relish every minute that I get to spend with her.  When she picked me up at DFW, she asked if I wanted to grab some lunch and where I wanted to go and without hesitation I said Fuzzy’s

I have been craving Fuzzy’s chicken soft tacos and queso since the last time I was in Fort Worth back in January.  In fact I am craving it now. 

This stuff is seriously like crack.

This stuff is seriously like crack.

I don’t know what kind of cheese they use but it is a smooth white cheese, with a handful of spicy/tangy pico and shredded cheese thrown on top.  I add some of their “Butt Burning Sauce” to make it extra spicy.  I could seriously eat this stuff every day (and I pretty much did my last semester-hence the Senior 5 weight-gainage).  Complementing the queso and tacos, is a $2.50 (with tax) schooner of icy cold Shiner.  It really doesn’t get much better than that.

Frosty Goodness

Frosty Goodness

After we ate at Fuzzy’s we went and looked around all the new construction on Campus. Since I graduated in May 2006, TCU has built a new bookstore, 4 new super nice dorms, a new Student Union, demolished the old Student Center and refurbished and relocated Frog Fountain. It is all pretty amazing but it really doesn’t look like the school I attended for 4 years.

New and improved Frog Fountain

New and improved Frog Fountain

Then we went to the Kimball to see the Impressionist exhibit. It was really awesome because I got to see works that are usually at the Art Institute but are currently on loan while they finish the new Modern Wing. It was pretty amazing to see the 6 Haystacks all in a row in the Kimball (sadly you couldn’t take pictures inside so I can’t show you).

Chicago masterpieces in Fort Worth

Chicago masterpieces in Fort Worth


Afterwards, we went and had a beer at the Flying Saucer in Downtown and I got to buy an Obama pint glass (can’t wait for Tuesday!!!). It really was amazing to listen and see all the support for Obama. I was not expecting it at all down in TCU, especially after living through the 2004 election as a Dem at TCU. Then we went and had dinner at my favorite hole-in-the-wall Vietnamese place right on the edge of the Fort Worth/Haltom line.
Smack dab in the middle of two payday lenders...

Smack dab in the middle of two payday lenders...


It was just as good (and cheap!) as I remembered. Hai Yen in Chicago is a good substitute but Tu Hai is truly tasty.
I actually bought a ticket like a good Alum

I actually bought a ticket like a good Alum


The next day I got to watch TCU dominate Wyoming, see many (but sadly not all!) of my favorite TCU friends, breathe in the smoky air at the Pub and remember how much I loved college. I always wonder if I should move back to Fort Worth but I am slowly realizing that while I love the city, I really wish I would relive Fort Worth circa 2002-2006.

Go Frogs!

Go Frogs!

3 responses to ““Yea, I like Texas”

  1. Rah, rah, TCU!!! My dad is an investor in several Flying Saucers, so we got those glasses in the mail the other day… however, I have to say that I prefer the McCain one. :) Sorry!

  2. So I did a search for a queso recipe and came across your blog. I discovered Fuzzy’s via my boyfriend who lives in Arlington TX (I’m currently in Chicago and making the big move down at then end of June). Thought I’d share the fact that I ordered a bunch of queso while I was down there last week and carted it back in a cooler. It actually kept really well and tasted just as good several days later as it does when you get it fresh. Not many people are hip to how wonderful Fuzzy’s is… I feel a weight gain coming on when I make TX my permanent home… haha! Glad to know I’m not the only queso obsessed gal in Chicago ;)

  3. Brynn

    I am a little jealous that you will be closer to Fuzzys….I miss it so much! Email me if you want any other inside advice on Ft. Worth and such. I made it my home for 4 years and it really is a great town!

Leave a Reply

