Cranberry-Nut Bread

img_1728
Time and time again I realize how much I love going to the farmer’s market because I end up buying an ingredient that I have never used before and I’m not even sure if I like it, but then come home, pull out my cookbooks and find something to do with it. Cranberries are in that category. I can’t remember having cranberries on our Thanksgiving table and the only time I have tasted the flavor is in juice form to ward off a bladder infection. At the last Green City still in Lincoln Park (they have since moved North to the Nature Museum but it is a bit of a trek on my bike rather than a leisurely walk) I picked up a $2 pint of cranberries just because they looked so pretty.

pretty red cranberries.

pretty red cranberries.

After looking through Tastespotting and a few of my favorite blogs, I decided that I would make a quick bread.  I love how easy it is to throw all the liquids in a small bowl.  Whisk all the dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Pour the wet into the dry with a quick stir, pour into a loaf pan and toss it all into the oven.  This bread was super moist and stayed that way for 4 or 5 days when I took the end of the loaf to work.  I got lots of compliments on it.

perfect flavor combo

perfect flavor combo

Try this while cranberries are still in season. They were little bursts of tang mixed in with the bright orange and the moist bread.

I love Zest.

I love Zest.

quick stir

quick stir

Crumbly

Crumbly

perfect with a glass of milk

perfect with a glass of milk

Cranberry-Nut Bread
Modified from p.687 “The Best New Recipe Book

2 Cups of AP Flour (I used 1 Cup AP, 1 Cup White-Wheatand will probably use all White-Wheat the next time)
1/2 cup nuts (I used Walnuts because it was what I had on hand, but pecans would also be lovely)
Zest and Juice from 1 large orange
2/3 cup buttermilk
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 large egg, beaten lightly
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2-1 teaspoon of cinnamon (My addition-I love cinnamon in all my breads)
1 1/2 cup cranberries, chopped coarse.

Pre-heat oven to 375. Grease and flour a loaf pan. Stir together the orange zest and juice, buttermilk, butter, and egg is a small bowl. Whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl. Stir the liquid ingredients into the dry with a rubber spatula until just moistened. Gently stir in the cranberries and pecans. Don’t over mix! Scrape the batter into the loaf pan and smooth the surface.

Bake 20 mins, then reduce the heat to 350; continue to bake until the loaf is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 45 mins longer. Cool in the pan 10 mins, then cool completely on a wire rack.

2 responses to “Cranberry-Nut Bread

  1. I’ve made something similar to this before but yours looks infinitely more moist. I have this cookbook… will take a peek!

  2. Pingback: cranberry coffee cake « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

