Last hours of 2008

As I get older, time really does seem to speed up. 2008 went by very fast. I can’t believe it has been over 2 years since I graduated from TCU and moved to Chicago. Or that I am a semester away from having a law degree.

I think it is nice to reflect and remember everything that went on this year. This year included many firsts.

I ran my first race: Shamrock Shuffle 8K with Brian and Julia.

n18300646_33128450_2300

I visted NYC with Dave which included a Yankees game in the old Yankee Stadium…

img_0812

…and Carrie’s apartment steps of course.
img_0871

I enjoyed the farmer’s market throughout the summer and fall and tried to educate myself about living a more sustainable/ethical eating lifestyle.

img_1256

I started this blog and greatly expanding my cooking and baking knowledge.

I voted for our next President and for the first woman to run for President.
n18300646_34028648_1080

We saw the fall of many historical financial institutions and a frozen crumbly economy. I lost a job for the first time.

Even though there is a lot of uncertainity coming in 2009, I am excited for the new year to come. I will likely be done with school, begin my legal career and turn 25 (how is that even possible?!).

Here are my hopes for 2009:
1) Continue to try to love running by training to finish the Shamrock Shuffle with a 10 min. mile time and the Soldier Field 10 Mile.
2) Lose 10 pounds by graduation and 20 by this time next year (#1 should help)
3) Pass the bar!
4) Learn to make fresh pasta and good pie dough
5) Try not to dwell on the bad things in life (finding a job, BarBri, student loans) and focus on the good things (Dave, my Mom, FaceLucy, my friends, my kitchen)
6) Take better food pictures to hopefully appease the tastespotting/foodgawker gods

I hope you are enjoying your NYE. I am probably not even going to make it to midnight because I have a 9AM flight to Orlando for a vacation with Dave and his family.

See you in 2009!

8 responses to “Last hours of 2008

  1. Happy 2009!

  2. Whitney – quite a year you’ve had! Happy New Year and thanks for the kind comments at Simmer. More good things for all of us in 2009.

  3. sounds like you had a fantastic year hope all your 2009 dreams come true!

  4. Whitney you are a wonderful cook! Loved seeing your pictures!

  5. Whitney… seeing your TX pictures made me a little homesick. Only 5 more days in OZ. Loved your Texas posts and you.

    Mom

  6. Pingback: Homemade Pasta « Whitney in Chicago

  7. Pingback: lets go yankees « Whitney in Chicago

  8. Pingback: cowboy cookies | Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

