This is Love.

I hope that y’all enjoyed your Valentine’s Weekend.  Wasn’t it nice having Valentine’s fall on a Saturday?  I thought it was perfect.  Dave and I went for an early grocery shopping run with Brian and Julia, then I came home and made these scones that I knew I had to try as soon as I saw the recipe on “Eggs on Sunday”. 

We then spent the day doing our laundry, helping a friend roll out pasta dough for his Valentine’s dinner and spending time with each other.   I also got to open the presents that Dave has been wanting to give me all week (they came in the mail and the boxes were just sitting in the living room).

It has been pretty fun telling people that Dave got me beans for Valentine’s. Yes beans. But he knows me too well because I have been eyeing Rancho Gordo from afar, and I finally get to see what all the fuss is about!

They are beautiful looking beans, especially the Ayocote Morado which are a deep purple. It will be lots of fun researching creative ways to use them! Any suggestions?

Dave also got me the SATC movie dvd which we promptly watched on Saturday night (he really loves me) and a yoga block after he watched me struggle to do extended side angle using Lucy’s scratching incline for balance. I couldn’t think of anything that Dave needed (or even anything he really wanted) so I decided to make him his favorite dessert. Key Lime Pie.

Key lime pie has never been one of my favorites. It isn’t that I don’t like the taste, I do, I just would never go out of my way to order it at a restaurant or have a slice if there is something chocolate or berry-filled around. After searching around the internet for a good recipe, I decided to pull out my The New Best Recipe book and low and behold, they had scientifically tested recipes for the “best” key lime pie.

I will admit that this was a pretty tasty dessert, and I have enjoyed 2 slices from the plate throughly. Dave also gave it his stamp of approval and he has eaten ALOT of key lime pie.

Key Lime Pie
From: The Best New Recipe Book p.909

Lime Filling
4 teaspoons grated zest and 1/2 cup strained juice from 3 or 4 limes (don’t bother measuring, I didn’t)
4 large egg yolks (save the whites for an omelet!)
1 (14oz) can sweetened condensed milk

Graham Cracker Crust
9 graham crackers (5oz) broken into rough pieces
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and kept warm

Whipped Cream Topping
3/4 cup chilled heavy cream
1/4 cup (1 oz) confectioners’ sugar
1/2 lime, sliced paper thin and dipped in sugar (optional, but its pretty)

For the filling: Whisk the zest and yolks in a medium nonreactive bowl until tinted light green, 2 mins. Beat in the condensed milk, then the juice; set aside at room temp to thicken (about 30 mins).

For the crust: Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 325 degrees. In a food processor, process the graham crackers until evenly fine, about 30 secs (should have 1 cup of crumbs). Add the sugar and pulse to combine. Continue to pulse while adding the warm melted butter in a steady stream; pulse until the mixture resembles wet sand. Transfer crumbs to a 9 inch glass pie plate and press on the bottom and the sides to form a crust. Bake the crust until it is fragrant and beginning to brown, 15 to 18 mins; transfer to a wire rank and cool completely.

Pour the lime filling into the crust; bake until the center is set yet wiggly when jiggled. [isn't that a great description?], 15 to 17 mins. Return the pie to a wire rack; cool to room temp, then refrigerate until well chilled, at least 3 hours.

For the topping: Whip the cream in a chilled bowl of an electric mixer to very soft peaks. Adding the confectioners’ sugar 1 tablespoon at a time, continue whipping to just-stiff peaks. Spread the whipped cream evenly with a rubber spatula. Garnish with sugared limes slices. Serve to the ones your love.

7 responses to “This is Love.

  1. luckytastebuds

    Hello there! I’m also a chicago blogger and a huuuuge foodie. :) Definitely loving that adorable scone you made…and omg key lime pie! It is one of those delicious but underrated pies!

  2. Those are some beautiful beans. Good work, Dave! Such a great gift.

  3. Whitney, my mouth is watering for a piece of the Key Lime Pie. It’s been such a long time since I last made one :(

  4. Pingback: One of those weeks « Whitney in Chicago

  5. Pingback: Venetian Bean Soup a la Rancho Gordo « Whitney in Chicago

  6. Oh my goodness this looks sublime! I think I need to try it…Now! ;) Thanks for sharing this delicious looking & sounding recipe.

  7. Pingback: winter citrus « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

