Learning to love running

Last year around this time, I was gearing up to run my first race, the Shamrock Shuffle 8K.  I was proud of myself for jumping in and doing something slightly longer than a 5K and training during the winter.  

img_07551 

Fast forward a year later and I have run three more 5Ks, dealt with plantar fasciitis and bad asthma (but thankfully treated both successfully so far) and I am training again for the Shamrock Shuffle and now the Solider Field 10 Mile!!  I decided to sign up for a training program through Fleet Feet and Chicago Endurance Sports which starts in 2 weeks.  I think it will be good to have some structure and accountability for the training, plus meet some people that I can hopefully continue to be active with throughout the summer.  I have also decided to make this race more than just something for my own personal satisfaction and benefit.  I am running this race as an American Cancer Society charity runner!  In college, I raised money for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital through my involvement in Up ’til Dawn but I have taken 2 years off actively raising money for charitable purposes.  I know that this economy is making everyone worried about their career (I know I’m terrified about unemployment come Post-Bar July) and their investments, but charities are struggling just as much if not more.  So I hope that all my friends, family and blog readers (who ever you are out there) will go to my website and donate as little or as much as you can.  Even just $1 or $5 or $10 dollars. For those of you who are local, I can promise some form of baked good as my appreciation (and even for those who are non-local for the right donation amount ;-) if you get my drift). Thank you in advance for your support. I am sure that I will be getting your advice and discussing some of my training up and downs in the coming months.

Please go donate here.

4 responses to “Learning to love running

  1. Good for you! I did the Shuffle a couple of years ago. For my money, it’s too big a race for that distance. I’m slow, and they ran out of money. I’m doing the Magellan Half Marathon in May (I think). And I’m the volunteer coordinator for the Rock and Roll Half Marathon in August. If you can do 10 miles in June, you can do 13.1 in August….. Or come work with me!

  2. Water. They ran out of water, not money.

  3. I will see how 10 miles goes. I am studying for the Bar in July so I might not be up for training for a half. We will see. Volunteering is an idea though. I passed out water at the Marathon this year and it was a lot of fun.

  4. Yay! Training programs help SO much. Good luck with it, I can’t wait to hear more about your progress! :)

Leave a Reply

