One of those weeks

[Warning: I am doing a little bit of complaining in this post]

Do you have those weeks where you are just apathetic about doing anything?  And when you actually summon the energy deep inside to do something, it doesn’t go as planned?  It has been one of those weeks.  Dave has been in San Fran for work since Wed which has made me not want to cook (cooking for one, is just not as much fun).  No desire to cook, has kept me away from grocery stores.  My past two training runs have been filled with crazy side stickers (felt like my whole  diaphragm was on fire) plus shin pain for the first time ever.  And to top it all off, they are predicting 1-2 inches of snow for the first time in weeks,  for the Shuffle tomorrow morning (and I sorta ran into a pole-like thingie, digging through my goodie bag to pull out a some what disappointing shirt at the Health and Fitness Expo yesterday and now I have a painful bump on my nose). 

It has been on of those weeks.

However……I came home on Thursday to a “See Doorman” sticker on my mailbox and this was waiting for me.

Andrea at Bella Eats asked for my address after I sent her a bag of my granola because she wanted to send me a treat. (I really wasn’t expecting anything out of my granola sharing, I just really loved the way it turned out and love to share with friends-even those that I only know through the internet and really hope that I can meet some day).

Banana Date Bread! Let me just say that this is some of the best banana bread I have ever had. It is incredibly moist and flavorful. I have been slowly enjoying it, trying to not eat it in one sitting so that Dave can have some when he gets back today.

I will be making this again when the banana bread craving strikes. It really is that good. I really is amazing how writing this simple blog has given me the opportunity to meet so many interesting and sweet people. I need to jump in the shower because I am actually meeting two local reader/bloggies at Argo at 1.

Thank you Andrea for being so sweet and really giving me a smile during one of those weeks. :)

PS-I currently have some Rancho Gordo‘s soaking for an appealing recipe that I hope to share tomorrow after the snowy Shuffle.

6 responses to “One of those weeks

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you liked the bread, Whitney, and that it was a bright spot during “one of those weeks”. I’ve had plenty of those weeks…its amazing how food can help to brighten the day! :)

    I’m so happy that we’ve become blog friends, I only wish that we lived in the same city! Someday I will visit Chicago and we can meet in person over coffee and delectable baked goods. :)

    Good luck in your Shuffle tomorrow! I’ll be sending sunny, warm thoughts your way…

  2. Honey, if that’s complaining, then you’re a WAY better person than most of us! :)

    Can’t wait to see you!!

  3. I am not looking forward to the impending snow either! The wind is already howling outside my window…I guess that is the downside of living near the lake :(

  4. Whitney – so great meeting you!! It was so much fun and we’ll have to do it more often!

  5. That is so stinkin awesome.

  6. Pingback: Banana Date Bread « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

