the generosity of friends

This past weekend, I threw a party at my apartment and asked my friends to donate money as “cover” to my ACS Solider Field 10 mile page.  Really, it was just a great excuse to have some great friends over to unwind before finals (and Bar Review-gag) start.  After running 6 miles (my longest yet!) in the morning, I came home to get ready for the party.  Throughout the day the donations trickled in and I was quickly over my $400 goal.  A BIG THANK YOU to all my wonderful friends that donated.  I can’t thank you enough for your generosity, especially as a time when we are all graduating and most of us without a clear income in sight.  

 

I enjoy throwing parties because it gives me a great excuse to try out new recipes (and some tried and true winners) and just enjoy the company of friends.  I was lucky enough that Wiggs was able to drag her Dave away from his own 1L studying for the evening.  I am sad that they will be gone to Seattle all summer, but very happy that they will be back in the Fall.

I decided that since it is *almost* really feeling like spring that I would make a batch of sangria (recipe below), buy a case of Shiner and have a plate full of munchies.

I started the Sangria on Friday night by soaking sliced oranges, lemons, limes and apples with brandy and sugar. This mixture is then mixed up with a chilled bottle of cab (2 buck chuck worked quite nicely) and a little OJ. I had many complements that it was actually fruity and not just sweet.

I also made brownies, snickerdoodles, white bean dip, the classic velvetta/rotel queso, and spiced nuts. I also had the cheese/cracker and a crudite plate. All and All it was a wonderful night with wonderful friends.

Thank you so much for your generosity to the fight against Cancer!
Betsy (Gates & Schmidt), Ted, Sarah, Jason, Jacob, Brian, Courtney, Dave, JBarr, Val (John Sherry), Katie, Kevin, Matt, Michelle & Jamie, Roman, Susan and Wiggs-n-Dave

Red Sangria
Adapted from Martha

Makes about 8 cups (I doubled this recipe and we ran out but we are law school lushes)

3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brandy
1 orange thinly sliced
1 lemon thinly sliced
1 lime thinly sliced
1 cup of OJ (no pulp)
2 (750ml) bottles of red, 2 Buck Chuck Cab worked great, chilled
2 sticks of cinnamon
Ice cubes

In a large pitcher or bowl stir sugar and brandy until well combined. Stir in fruit slices until coated; let stand, refrigerated, overnight.

Add OJ, wine and cinnamon to pitcher and stir until well combined. Serve over ice in wine glasses.

3 responses to “the generosity of friends

  1. I had so much fun!!! Dave was happy that I got him to put down the flash-cards. And the food you made? Holy crumb. People, if you ever have a chance to eat anything – ANYTHING – made by Whitney, don’t let anything stand in your way until your mouth is stuffed full of her delicious creation.

  2. Ok…so I am really – REALLY – jealous that you and Wiggs get to hang out in Chicago!!! I need to make a visit to see two of my favorite blog ladies…

    I totally agree with you re: Harry Potter vs Twilight. The writing is so much better in Harry Potter, but Twilight has become something of a guilty pleasure for me. I’m sure it has everything to do with the stress in my daily life…sometimes its nice to just read fluff. :)

    And, sangria? One of my favorites!

  3. Pingback: Banana Date Bread « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

