7 Miles and the Market

This morning I got up and ran 7 miles along the lakefront ending at the last Green City up at the Nature Museum. I am really glad that they managed to have a market throughout the winter but I am VERY excited for it to come back down into the park right by my apartment. My legs are getting very tight/sore/tired from all my training but I feel pretty awesome that I was able to run for an hour and 20 mins today (I run slow and don’t hesitate to drink a few gulps at every water fountain I see). 2 years ago, I couldn’t even run a mile.

The market this morning also had a lovely visitor named Alice Waters. She was at the end of a LONG line to sign copies of her books. I wish I had the time or the money to get a copy signed. Maybe next time. I am sure she will be back.

I came home from my run and finally busted out my sample pack of Buitoni’s Wild Mushroom Agnolotti. I was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful taste of the filling. I will have to see if I can track another pack down at the store. It was a quick and easy lunch after my long run which left me STARVING. Thanks Foodbuzz for the free sample! (next time figure out a better way to ship it-such a HUGE box for such a tiny package).

8 responses to “7 Miles and the Market

  1. Ok, not sure how I’m going to do it but I WILL be aquiring something at least similar to this for dinner. Love that you complimented the pre-stuffed pasta with fresh mushrooms…it looks delicious!

  2. Oh, I love your photos today! I have camera envy. :) When I saw that pasta just now my stomach made a snarling noise and tried to jump out of my body and eat my computer screen. I guess that’s what these long runs do to you.

  3. Thanks Wiggs. Gotta love the set up right by the balcony window ;-)

    ToKissTheCook-I hope you find something similar tonight. These were quite yummy.

  4. So I finally get around to reading your blog, and I find that we were both at the same place at the same time today! I bought one of the books and got it signed, and ate way too much cheese at that market today!
    p.s. Fancy and I went to college together :)

  5. seeing the market in full swing after a long winter is such a happy time. that’s so cool you saw alice waters… we just got reservations for her restaurant when we head to CA soon. woohoo!

  6. Ummmmm….so I was jealous before that you and Wiggs were hanging out but now I have to go and read that you saw Alice Waters?!?!?!? I was in the middle of her biography before getting de-railed by Twilight and am looking forward to picking it back up (in a few days, when I finish the next 1000 pages of Twilight. It doesn’t take long because you can skip through a lot and still get the gist…:) )

    CONGRATS on 7 miles!!!

  7. beautiful photos!

    nice run, by the way — ROCKSTAR ;)

  8. Shannon-Thanks for the compliments!

    Andrea-When Wiggs is back in the Chi from her summer in Seattle (and I am done taking the Bar) you should come out for a few days. I’d love to have you!

    Kelly-SO jealous that you are going to Chez Panisse. You will have to tell me how it is!

Leave a Reply

