a commencement [and a cocktail]

The past week has been a total whirlwind. I took my last law school final, had my parents in town for 5 days, graduated from law school Sunday afternoon and started the bar review marathon called Bar/Bri Monday at 9AM. Needless to say, there has been much celebration and wonderful meals out with friends and family, but no time in my kitchen (or even to watch many TV Finales-Greys, Lost, GG). Today was also the first day where the temperature has been in the 80s in Chicago. After a long winter and damp “spring,” the warmth is much appreciated. The perfect thing for a warm sunny evening is this cocktail.

If you can find Domaine De Canton, it really is worth the splurge. It is a fresh tasting ginger liqueur that is perfectly drinkable on its own but is downright refreshing and delicious mixed with TJs Sparkling Lemonade. I usually put a shot over ice in a small glass and just fill it with the lemonade. It is just perfect for a springtime celebration.

Also, I know that I have many lurkers out there (yes, I am talking to you) and I would love to get to know you, so leave a comment on this post telling me who you are and what you are most looking forward to this summer. I am looking forward to July 30th because I will be finished with the IL Bar!

Sparkling Ginger Lemonade
Domaine De Canton (Ginger Liqueur)
Sparkling Lemonade (or other soda or sparkling water)

Mix 1 shot of Domaine De Canton with the sparkling lemonade to fill a small glass over ice.
Quick stir with a spoon. Enjoy.

9 responses to “a commencement [and a cocktail]

  1. Congratulations on your graduation! I was one of the few who enjoyed Bari/Bri – though I definitely didn’t enjoy the stress of actually taking the bar itself. Good luck! I am looking forward to long days full of sunshine this summer. I love having so many hours of daylight.

  2. Congrats, Whitney! Sounds like a pretty exciting start to summer.

  3. onemonkeyshow

    I simply must say – LOVE Canton! I’ll have to try it with lemonade. I usually just shake it with some Grey Goose and I’m good to go!

  4. Congratulations on graduation! I am going to have to try this Canton…sounds great. I am most looking forward to spending time at the beach collecting beach glass with my sons.

  5. congratulations! what an accomplishment! I love ginger, so this sounds perfect!

  6. Congraduations! That cocktail looks inCRED. Perfect for a bona fide attorney. :)

  7. Pingback: many scoops « Whitney in Chicago

  8. Pingback: On Vacation With… Urban Sardines! | Bridesmaids-Dresses.info

  9. Pingback: peanut + lime cabbage salad « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

