sweet strawberries

Ever since strawberries came into season and started appearing at all my favorite booths at the market, a quart has made it into my basket with every visit.  While I did add them into an amazing cake a few days ago (which I will surely tell you about this weekend), I have mainly been enjoying them for breakfast.  These beauties are just perfect sliced up and mixed with greek yogurt and some cereal.  I generally will just buy the containers of 2% greek yogurt from Trader Joe’s but recently I had the opportunity to sample Oikos from the great people of Stonyfield by way of some free coupons.  While I probably will continue to buy the containers from TJs, I will definetly start treating myself to Oikos, especially the kind with Honey on the bottom.  

Historically, I haven’t been much of a honey fan. However, that has changed over the past year as I have used it in a Tofu glaze and in my granola recipe. I decided to be adventurous with my coupon and try the honey on the bottom variety and I’m glad I did, because it is really good. The sweetness of the honey matches perfectly with the greek yogurt tang. If Oikos is in a store near you, pick it up and try some out. Tonight I am heading to the Growing Home Benefit after winning tickets through a photo contest at Gaper’s Block. Growing Home is a great organization and I have enjoyed picking some wonderful produce at Green City. I also have a friend that is very happy with their CSA this season. I will try to tell you about it tomorrow, especially about the food (duh) and what Rick Bayless had to say.

4 responses to “sweet strawberries

  1. I think Growing Home is one of the coolest programs! My mom and stepdad did some work with them last year… have a great time! I’ve met Rick Bayless a couple times, and he’s always so well spoken. Ok, I’m officially jealous ;)

  2. Pingback: four layers « Whitney in Chicago

  3. Isn’t the Oikos great? I tried the vanilla and the blueberry so far, but my friend highly recommended the honey, and now I’m very curious! Great photos, BTW.

  4. Shannalee-I was skeptical about the honey one but it really is fantastic. I’m going to have to pick up a nice jar from the market in a few and dribble some into my yogurt. YUM! Thanks for the photo compliments :)

Leave a Reply

