better than DD

[if you are clicking over from the strawberry gelato picture on TS the correct link is here…sorry for the confusion]

Summer has finally arrived in Chicago.  Today, as I headed to the market at 7AM sharp, it was already 80 degrees.  As someone who spent the first 22 years of her life in Texas (and most of those summers in unbearable hot and humid Houston) I wasn’t very happy about it.  Sure I was getting pretty sick of the 50 degree and rainy days in early June, but high of 93 in Chicago on June 24th?  No thank you.  However, the one perk (pun intended) of summer’s arrival is Iced Coffee.  

Iced Coffee might even be simpler than hot coffee to make in the mornings, mainly because you do most of the steps the night before.  Simply add 1/3 cup of coarse ground coffee to 1 1/2 cups of water in a jar (or even easier a French Press) and let soak over night in the fridge.  In the morning just strain away the coffee grounds (or push down the French Press-told you it was easy), pour over night and add milk/sugar to your liking.  I like to put mine in a leftover POM tea glass because it has a lid that snaps on so that I can bring it with me to my dreadful super-fun and exciting BarBri morning lectures.

I will admit that some days I really do just crave a medium cinnamon iced coffee, cream only from DD (thats Dunkin Donuts) but cold brewed from a french press is oh so smooth and refreshing.  Especially when there is a leftover half-gallon of WHOLE milk in the fridge from an ice cream making experience.  I have been thinking about making some cinnamon simple syrup to try to recreate the fake flavor.  Anyone give this a try?

Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

Originally from the New York Times but many have also posted this simple recipe.

1/3 cup coarse ground coffee
Milk and sugar (optional)

Simply mix coffee with 1 1/2 cups of water in a jar or french press. Leave overnight in the fridge (or room temp is fine but then you need more ice). In the morning simply strain out the grounds or push down the press.

Pour over plenty of ice and add milk and sugar to taste.

14 responses to “better than DD

  1. mmm, this is so simple and delicious sounding. i’m a huge fan of iced coffee, so i’ll definitely be trying this out.
    as for the simple syrup, i’ve made more variations than I care to admit, but you could totally just add a cinnamon stick to the sugar and water when you’re making it. Or get a little crazy and add a cinnamon stick to the coffee brewing overnight.

  2. I read recently that iced coffee is the fastest growing drink in the beverage market, as seen in the big promos for iced coffee from McDonald’s and Starbucks. Your french pressed version looks refreshing…and good use of recycling those glass POM jars.

  3. I love this! I’ve always wondered how to make ice coffee, but I usually just rely on the local coffee shop to supply it for me. :) I am definitely trying it out this weekend, we even have the same french press! :)

  4. I love Pom containers! I save all of mine, too.

  5. This sounds delicious! I’ve been spending the last few months in Arizona, and the desert heat is getting to me– this recipe will be the perfect antidote. :)

  6. Pingback: many scoops « Whitney in Chicago

  7. I do this too, it’s so easy with a French press. I prefer it with stronger coffee as the lighter brews tend to taste bland the next day.

  8. I love the name (I’m a Whitney, too!). When I was in college, I worked at a coffee shop that did “cold press coffee”, the same method that you described above. This was a fun way to brew coffee, and definitely allowed the flavors to develop.

  9. Oh my. I am terribly thirsty just now, and I believe I am about to lick the darn screen. That glass looks perfect.

  10. lettucepraise

    My cabinet is full of POM glasses. My hubby and I love reusing them and the snap-on lids are an added bonus. And I dearly love iced coffee brewed in my french press. Yum.

  11. I LOVE iced coffee made in a French press. The best part is waking up and it’s ready to go! Great blog.

  12. Pingback: eat make read » happy hour: coffee concentrate

  13. Pingback: pineapple ginger aqua frescas « Whitney in Chicago

  14. Pingback: 20100416-3893_CRS | Iced Coffees

Leave a Reply

