red and blue

Happy 4th of July! I hope that you are out at a BBQ or watching a parade and gearing up for a night full of fireworks. Growing up the 4th of July holiday was always a hot and steamy affair. It would start with a July 3rd night at the Pavilion for the free concert complete with picnics and real cannons for the 1812 Overture. The next morning was the parade where I would dress up my bike with patriotic streamers and ride with the Indian Spring Village Float. The afternoon would be filled with cold watermelon, swimming pools and BBQ. Ended with a fireworks display over the golf course and the lake. I am unfortunately “celebrating” with some Contracts and Real Property review (but maybe I will throw in some Con Law for good measure) on a somewhat rainy and cloudy 4th. Today wasn’t a total bust because the farmers were out bright and early this morning at Green City.

I picked up a few things including some amazing raspberries from Seedling and some almost red, white and blue fingerlings from Nichols.

I knew immediately when I came home with the raspberries that I wanted to tuck some of them into this amazing buttermilk cake.

This is the perfect versatile cake recipe for any summer fruit and can easily be brought to a morning brunch or topped with a little whipped cream or homemade ice cream for a nice dessert. It comes together quite quickly after the stick of butter has had time to soften and the oven preheated. I actually already made this cake a few weeks back when strawberries were the only fruit filling the market. It was really good with strawberries: light and fluffy, not too sweet with a slight tang from the buttermilk. I can’t wait to have a slice with raspberries for dessert after my dinner of Zuni Cafe Chicken and Fingerlings. Maybe not such a bad 4th after all.

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake
From Gourmet-June 2009

Serves 6; Active Time 15 min; Start to Finish 1 Hour

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup plus 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar, divided
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 large egg
1/2 cup well-shaken buttermilk
1 cup fresh raspberries (about 5 oz)

Preheat oven to 400°F with rack in middle. Grease a 9-inch round cake pan.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Beat butter and 2/3 cup sugar with an electric mixer at medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes, then beat in vanilla. Add egg and beat well.

At low speed, mix in flour mixture in 3 batches, alternating with buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour, and mixing until just combined.

Spoon batter into cake pan, smoothing top. Scatter raspberries evenly over top and sprinkle with remaining 1 1/2 Tbsp sugar.

Bake until cake is golden and a wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes. Cool in pan 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack and cool to warm, 10 to 15 minutes more. Invert onto a plate.

11 responses to “red and blue

  1. Pingback: 1812 Overture | All Days Long

  2. This is a delicious looking eat. What a great idea! We had beautiful fireworks in our area. Hope you had a happy 4th!

  3. This looks great — a perfect summer treat!

  4. I made the buttermilk pie for Memorial Day and used the raspberries and blueberries.

    It was delicious,

    Denise

  5. oneordinaryday

    I’ve had my eye on that buttermilk cake too. It turned out beautifully and looks delicious.

  6. I saw the black raspberries at the market on Saturday but didn’t get them. Do they taste the same as red ones? WHat a great way to get in your ‘blue’.

  7. Emily-They taste different. Almost like blackberries (which maybe they are). They were more fragile than the traditional berries but I just mixed them up with some strawberries and sugar to turn them into preserves. Pick some up at the next market. All the fruit has been amazing!

    Denise-Isn’t it such a great recipe? So simple and tasty.

    Ninette-Thanks!

    Jackie-Hope you enjoyed the fireworks!

  8. Thanks for finding such a great use for some of those delicious summer berries! The fruit share portion of my farm share starts this weekend and I’ll be sure to try it.

  9. Whitney – I’ve been eyeing this recipe too because I think I can probably sub out the flour and sugar with white whole wheat and agave nectar and make it South Beach friendly. Glad to hear that it was great. By the way, I am equally impressed that you are posting on July 4th before the bar exam. When I took the bar, I stopped thinking about anything other than the law just around July 4th. These led to very boring conversations with my husband (who is not a lawyer), but I kept reminding him that he only had to deal with 1 month of this stress. And, then it’s done!

  10. Akila-Let me know if you try the substitutions. I keep telling myself that IL has a high passage rate and the Bar really is just a minimum competency exam ;-). The next few weeks are probably going to be rough.

  11. Pingback: watermelon lemonade « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

