Sour Cherry Coffee Cake

Have you heard about this coffee cake yet?  I bet that you have.  I have made this coffee cake more than twice over the past few months but I just haven’t had a chance to tell you about it yet. And it really is a shame because I am pretty sure that sour cherry season has come and gone. I made sure to stash a few quart bags full in the back of my freezer to pull out when I am feeling a little nostalgic for summer.

This is a deliciously easy coffee cake that I think would be tasty with other berries. I am sure that it would be great with blueberries and a little lemon zest. I am sure that I will give that a try when I am back in Chicago. I’m currently taking a few of my law school friends on a weeklong tour of Texas. We are getting our fill of queso, cheap Shiner beer, heat, and the sun. I will be back later in the week to show you some pictures. In the meantime, go see if you can find a last pint of sour cherries at your market and make this coffee cake. You won’t be sorry that you did.

Sour Cherry Coffee Cake
(From Lottie + Doof who adapted from Martha Stewart Living, July 2009)

For the topping:
2 ounces (4 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted, plus more for dish
3/4 cup all-purpose flour, plus more for dish
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

For the cake:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
4 ounces (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup buttermilk
2 cups fresh sour cherries, pitted
Preheat oven to 350° F. Butter a 9-inch round baking dish, dust with flour, tap out excess.

In a medium bowl, stir together butter, flour, sugars, salt, and cinnamon. Set topping aside.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Using a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and granulated sugar until pale and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Working in alternating batches, add flour mixture and buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour. Beat until just combined. Pour into prepared dish, and smooth with an offset spatula. Dot top with cherries, and sprinkle with crumb topping.

Bake until golden and a tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 1 hour. Let cool before cutting.

9 responses to “Sour Cherry Coffee Cake

  1. Delicious! Have a fabulous vacation!

  2. kissmyspatula

    your coffee cake looks like perfection!

  3. I didn’t hear about it until now! But I have sour cherries, and I NEED that. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Love your first photograph. I had a run-in with sour cherries, too…although mine wasn’t quite as successful as yours appears to have been :)

  5. Gorgeous photos on this one! I don’t even care for cherries, and you’ve got me wanting them. :)

  6. The cake looks so good. It’s a pity the season’s gone by for us.

  7. Pingback: packed full « Whitney in Chicago

  8. I went cherry picking this past weekend and was looking for recipes. Yours looks great, I’ll have to try it out tonight, thanks!

  9. Pingback: sour cherry jam with balsamic | Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

