slow roasted

Supposedly summer is on its way out.  TCU’s sorority recruitment  has begun, new 1Ls at Kent have started the long 3 year journey and for the first time, I am not buying a new planner and stacks of over priced textbooks.  Instead, I am job hunting and spending lots of time in my kitchen and out enjoying Chicago.  One of the best thinks about the height of summer is tomatoes.  Tomatoes slowly creep into the market throughout June and July but by August they fill the farmers tables.  Unfortunately this is not the case in the Northeast, but as far as I can tell, the blight has not impacted the Midwest, thankfully.

This past Saturday, I picked up a big bag full of roma tomatoes and I knew that I would turn them into slow roasted treats to enjoying slowly throughout the fall. Molly claims that coriander really makes these slow roasted babies shine and I agree.  Funny story.  I stopped at the Spice House on the way to (finally) see Harry Potter to quickly run in and pick up the necessary spice for these tomatoes.

I walked in and quickly went for the jar of cardamom and asked for an ounce.  The guy that helped me asked what I was going to make and I quickly described slow roasting romas over a day and that I have read that this spice makes them sing.  He looked at me a little strange but I went with it.  Only to walk back to my bike and ask Dave “I needed cardamon right?”  He looked at me and said “no, coriander.”  I quickly went back into the Spice House and felt like a huge ass but at least I got my spice, right?  I let the romas roast at 200 throughout the day, even leaving for a couple of hours to run errands.  It can’t get any easier than that.  I put a good handful in a bag to use over the next week from the fridge and froze the rest to enjoy throughout the fall when tomatoes will slowly be long gone.

Slow-Roasted Tomatoes with Sea Salt and Ground Coriander

From Molly Wizenberg at Orangette

Ripe tomatoes, preferably Roma
Olive oil
Sea salt
Ground coriander

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Fahrenheit.

Wash the tomatoes, cut off the stem end, and halve them lengthwise. Pour a bit of olive oil into a small bowl, dip a pastry brush into it, and brush the tomato halves lightly with oil. Place them, skin side down, on a large baking sheet. Sprinkle them with sea salt and ground coriander—about a pinch of each for every four to six tomato halves.

Bake the tomatoes until they shrink to about 1/3 of their original size but are still soft and juicy, 4 to 6 hours.  Remove the baking sheet from the oven, and allow the tomatoes to cool to room temperature. Place them in an airtight container, and store them in the refrigerator.  If you want to freeze them, once they are cool, place the baking sheet in the freezer and allow them to freeze individually, then place them in a bag.  This way they won’t clump up.

11 responses to “slow roasted

  1. I’ve made these! Right after I finished reading her book, it was the first recipe I tried. I have some in my freezer as we speak and they freeze so well. I take them out and heat up a baguette and a slice of cheese and have a great pre-dinner snack. Great pictures!

  2. Love these, too! As soon as tomatoes drop in price a bit at the farmer’s market, I’ll be making a batch of these too – truly delicious, and hard not to just gobble them all up!

  3. I love tomatoes and I must try this before summer leaves =)

  4. Yum!! I made something like this (minus the coriander) last summer and we enjoyed them all year…they dried out so much that I kept them in a Ball jar in the pantry, just like dry sundried tomatoes. Great on pizzas. :) My brother ate them like candy when he visited…

  5. My husband went to Kent too :) Such a good idea to make roasted tomatoes! If only they wouldn’t be so darn expensive I would stock up and do this – maybe soon they will come down in price :)

  6. Re price: I spend $7 for a quart of organic romas, ate 1/4 on salads and dried the rest. They tasted like candy. I saw one vendor at GCM selling canning tomatoes for less than $1 a pound. I’m going to pick up 10-20 lbs on Saturday and can some tomato sauce

    Val-When did he graduate? What type of law does he practice?

  7. mmm these sound great!

  8. Your tomatoes look so perfect! The first meal I made from Molly’s book was the cauliflower with salsa verde. It was so good I have repeated it over and over. I would totally recommend! I likewise shall be trying these tomatoes at my earliest convenience…

  9. AH! I have to do this! There is something about seeing a tray of tomatoes that makes me so happy – does that sound weird? I guess I’ll say it anyway. Because it does. And I have so many tomatoes from the garden right now!

  10. Pingback: eat make read » slow roasted tomatoes

  11. Pingback: weekday mornings « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

