little creativity [and a giveaway!]

Early in the summer, I read on Twitter that this company called Barhyte was sponsoring a contest for bloggers to use their bottle sauces to create recipes and possibly win some prizes.  It sounded like an fun idea that would force me to experiment a little in the kitchen with some flavors that I probably wasn’t used to.  The deal was sealed when I found out that they would send a few extra bottles for me to give away to you!

Not surprisingly, this little thing that you may have heard about got kept me busy for most of the summer, but I have had time this past week to experiment.  I decided to use the Lime Chipotle Marinade for my first recipe since this is what I have to give away to you.  It has a tangy, slightly spicy southwestern flavor so I decided to simply marinate a chicken breast in a tablespoon and half for an hour, then sprinkle it with kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper.  Since this really isn’t all that extraordinary, I knew that I wanted to pair the chicken with some sort of salad.  The best thing about summer is that you really don’t need to do much to summer produce to really make them shine.  I bought corn, green beans and cherry tomatoes at Green City and went with it.  After cutting the corn kernels from the cob (the best way is to invert a small bowl in the bottom of a big one, set the cob on the little bowl and cut down, catching all the kernels in a big bowl) I knew just what to make: a southwestern flavored vegetable salad with slices of chicken on top.  It was fresh tasting and delicious.  The marinade had a great flavor and kept the chicken juicy.

If you want to have a bottle to try out this recipe, or experiment yourself, leave a comment on this post telling me what you are most looking forward to this fall.  I will close the contest on September 1st at 9:00 AM Central Time and randomly pick the winners.  Good luck!

You can also read about other blogs that are entering this contest as well (and maybe win a bottle from their giveaways!)
Bella Eats
Food Loves Writing

Southwestern Corn Salad with Saucy Mama Chicken
A Whitney In Chicago Original

Serves 2
Lime Chipotle Marinade from Saucy Mama (or any of your favorite Southwestern Style seasoning)
1 Large Chicken Breast
3 Ears of Corn, kernels cut from cob
1 Cup of Green Beans, ends trimmed and cut into 2 inch pieces
3/4 Cup of Cherry Tomatoes, washed
1/2 teaspoon Ground Chipotle Chile Pepper [By yourself some, then make this as well]
Kosher Salt
Fresh Black Pepper

Place chicken breast in a bowl and mix with 1-2 tablespoons of the Lime Chipotle Marinade, just enough to coat the entire thing. Let the bowl sit in the fridge for about an hour.

Preheat oven to 350F. Place chicken breast on a baking sheet and sprinkle with a pinch of kosher salt and plenty of cracked black pepper. Cook in the oven for 10 minutes and then flip. Then cook for another 5 minutes, or until no longer pink. Use your best judgment on cooking times because chicken breast size can vary. Remove from oven, let rest for a few minutes, then cut into strips.

Meanwhile, fill a medium sauce pan with salted water and bring to a bowl. Once boiling, toss in the green beans and cook until only slightly crunchy, about 5 minutes. Add corn kernels and cook for 1 more minute. Drain and place in a large bowl. Toss the corn and green beans with 1/2 teaspoon of ground chipotle chili peppers, salt and pepper. Add in cherry tomatoes.

Serve in a bowl with slices of chicken on top.

11 responses to “little creativity [and a giveaway!]

  1. The lime chipotle marinade sounds awesome! I made a similar sounding marinade a few weeks ago and used it on shrimp. It was great so I highly recommend trying the Saucy Mama sauce on seafood!

    Hmmm, let’s see – what I am NOT looking forward to about fall? :) Crisp air, apple orchards, football games, the leaves changing color…I could go on and on!

  2. I’m most looking forward to a fun trip my mom and I take every fall to this neat small town with lots of antique shopping and a homes tour. We always make a day of it, and include tons of hot chocolate. =)

  3. I am most looking forward to spending time outdoors, walking and enjoying the fall colors with my family. Thank you!

  4. Good lord, that looks delicious. We didn’t make it to the market on Saturday because we ended up meeting up with some old college friends and may or may not have stayed up till 4am. Yeah. Great idea, Wiggs.

    Dave and I walked up to the zoo today and on our way back we passed the Spice Shack (or whatever that place is in your ‘hood). I thought of you!

    xxx

  5. I’m definitely counting down the days until I can get my pumpkin spice Americano at Starbucks.

  6. I’m looking forward to Halloween!!! I love it! Not only it is my favorite holiday (is it really a holiday?) but I finally have a bf who wants to go to haunted houses with me!!! Yea!!!!

    Plus, we’re going away for the weekend that same weekend, so haunted houses all month and then a weekend getaway! Can’t beat that!

  7. Your dishes look lovely! The marinade sounds great. Thanks for hosting this giveaway.

    The part I’m looking forward to most about fall is going to the apple orchard :D

  8. I am most looking forward to pumpkin! I LOVE PUMPKIN!

  9. Since I already have my marinade, I shouldn’t count for the giveaway, but I wanted to comment anyway to say two things: 1) This looks delicious and I love that we both we Southwest. :) 2) My favorite part of fall would be the smells – the cider, the leaves burning, the fireplaces, the apple orchards, the pumpkin pie. So excited!

  10. Pingback: sesame ginger noodles « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

