weekday mornings

One of the best things about currently being unemployed job searching is weekday mornings.  I wake up reasonably early since Dave gets up and heads to work and I spend the first couple hours of the day, slowly sipping my coffee out of a big ceramic mug while sitting on my couch, digging through my Google Reader or reading a book.  For the time being, its very enjoyable routine.  My morning routine also consists of this granola.  You might have read about this “dangerously addictive olive oil granola” that was featured in the NYT. I decided to make up a batch because I was eating my way through also very delicious but expensive bags of granola from Milk and Honey.

This granola really is dangerously addictive.  It is even better than my last granola obsession.  This granola is perfect mixed into a bowl with a scoop or two of tangy greek yogurt with a little homemade apricot jam (that I still need to tell you about) swirled in.  If you need a morning breakfast routine, give this a try.  You won’t regret it.

Olive Oil Granola
Adapted from Olive Oil Granola w/Dried Apricots and Pistachios by Melissa Clark

1 1/2 cups pistachios, raw and shelled
1 cup raw peptias (pumpkin seeds)
1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamon (good thing I had some)
3/4 cup dried apricots (or any fruit) chopped into tinyish pieces

Preheat oven to 300F. Mix all the ingredients except for the dried fruit up in a large bowl until well mixed. Pour granola mixture onto a rimmed baking sheet that is either greased or onto of a Silpat. Bake for 45 mins, stirring the mixture every 10 mins. The best way to do this is with a spatula and just flip it all around so that it evenly browns.

After it is done baking, pour back into a bowl and mix in the dried fruit. Store in quart mason jars or a large Ziploc. Enjoy on top of greek yogurt and preserves to achieve the full weekday morning effect.

7 responses to “weekday mornings

  1. I’ve made a version of this too. More than once! It always disappears SO FAST!

  2. Love homemade granola and this looks fantastic. I try and put mine in the freezer so that I don’t eat a whole bag in a day – but you know what tastes even better…frozen granola!

  3. Yum yum yum! I am due to make some granola, and this sounds delicious!

    Good luck in your interview on Monday!!!

  4. One day, I’ll use my basic Muesli mix, jazz it up a bit to make this granola acc to you! Before then though, I’ll have to share my peach swiss bircher with you soon…. Thanks

  5. I’ve made this granola. It is addicting! YUM.

  6. Pingback: What’s all the fuss about this Black and White Granola? « The Kitchenette

  7. Pingback: everyday granola « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

