sesame ginger noodles

I headed to Green City yesterday morning, knowing that I wanted to create some sort of stir-fry for my final entry in the Saucy Mama Contest. This contest was fun because I didn’t enter it wanting or expecting to win anything, but rather it gave me a chance to play around in the kitchen. Since starting this blog almost a year ago, I have become way more confident in leaving recipes behind and just working with what I have on hand in the kitchen. I have to say that it is pretty fun.

After finding some beautiful baby bok choy from Green Acres I knew that I had the right idea to make a vegetable stir fry and toss some rice noodles with a sauce made from a base of the Saucy Mama Sesame Ginger dressing. I tasted the dressing and thought it was a tad sweet so I knew that I needed to whisk in a few salty items. Soy sauce and garlic seasoned rice vinegar did the trick. I wanted to add some Chili Garlic sauce but we didn’t have any in the fridge but it would be a good addition.

The sauce ended up being the perfect flavor to pair with the rice noodles and stir fried vegetables. The best thing about this recipe is that it lends itself to use whatever looks good at the market or whatever you happen to have on hand in the crisper drawer. If you haven’t already entered into the Saucy Mama sauce giveaway, go leave a comment on the “little creativity” post and for an additional entry, leave a comment on this post telling me your favorite way to eat asian noodles by 9AM Central on September 1st. My favorite would have to be in Vietnamese Noodle Soup (Pho).

PS-sorry for the really crappy final dish picture. It was near dusk, the lighting was bad and I don’t have time to retake it but I wanted to give you an idea of what the final dish looked like.

Sesame Ginger Noodles
A Whitney in Chicago Original

For the Sauce:
1/2 cup of Saucy Mama Sesame Ginger Dressing
1 tablespoon soy sauce, I prefer low sodium
1/2 tablespoon seasoned rice vinegar, I used a Garlic variety but use whatever you have
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon crushed red peppers flakes, I used 5-6 “shakes” of my bottle but use until it reaches your spice taste tolerance

For the Dish: I used a bunch of vegetables that were in season for the stir fry. This is obviously open to adaption. It would be great with mushrooms, cubed potatoes, etc.

1 large yellow onion, cut into chunks (you want “two bite” slices)
1-2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 small jalapeno, minced (optional, if you like things spicy)
2 bell peppers, preferably red or orange
1 small squash, I used a yellow patty-pan
1 large handful of green beans, ends trimmed
4 bunches of baby bok choy, throughly washed and roughly chopped (it cooks down pretty small so you want big-ish pieces, if you can only find normal bok choy, that is fine to, you will just need to cut it down more
Mild flavored olive oil or other cooking oil
1 package rice noodles, I used a Trader Joe’s variety called “Rice Sticks-Traditional Thai Pasta”

For the Chicken:
1 chicken breast (if you have a carnivore that needs his protein, I didn’t feel it was necessary)
Kosher salt
Fresh cracked pepper

Prepare the sauce. In a measuring cut whisk together the Saucy Mama Sesame Ginger sauce, soy sauce, rice vinegar, and crushed red pepper flakes. Add additional soy sauce or rice vinegar to taste. I found the sesame ginger sauce to be a tad sweet so I wanted to add more of a salty flavor.

Preheat oven to 350F. Season chicken breast liberally with salt and pepper. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 10-12 mins, flipping half-way, until no longer pink. Use your judgment, this could be faster or shorter depending on the size and thickness of your chicken. Once done, remove from oven, let rest for a min, and then slice into strips or bite-sized pieces.

Meanwhile, heat 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large pan or dutch oven on medium heat. It is helpful to use one with a lid. Add the chopped onion and then cook until they are beginning to soften. Add garlic and jalapenos and cook for an additional minute or two. Add baby bok choy, reduce heat to medium low and cover, stirring every couple of minutes to prevent sticking.

While the baby bok choy is cooking, heat water in a pasta pot to cook the noodles according to the package instructions. Once the noodles are finished, remove from the pasta pot and toss with the sauce, as prepared above.

After the baby bok choy has wilted and become tender, removed the bok choy, onions, garlic to a small bowl. Heat up an additional tablespoon of oil on medium heat and add the remaining vegetables and stir fry until tender, about 5-6 mins. Return the removed bok choy and onions to the pot and throughly heat all the vegetables. Salt and pepper to taste.

In a large bowl, plate a pile of noodles and top with an assortment of the vegetables and sliced chicken.

[This recipe does require you to do a few things at once so it is very helpful to have your "mis en place" ready, ie, cut up all the vegetables and get everything out and ready before you turn on the burner. See how long your noodles take to cook and time it when the vegetables. Mine took 6 mins so I knew that I needed to do it later in the stir fry process but yours might take longer, so you might need to start them earlier.]

5 responses to “sesame ginger noodles

  1. Looks delicious and I love the creativity with all the vegetables. Great Green City finds!

  2. Pad thai is probably my favorite way…but I’m trying to branch out. =)

  3. Looks really great!

  4. Don’t you just hate when it is dark out when you need to take your final food picture? I love that you are writing your own recipes – I would be tempted to add a scoop of peanut butter to the sauce!

  5. I love me some asian noodles. i did the same thing a few weeks ago with some thai eggplant i found at the green city mkt. it is fun to play around and figure stuff out as you go. looks great!

Leave a Reply

