Purple Tomatillo Salsa

You know what I love most about fall.  It isn’t apples or crunchy fallen leaves or pumpkins, although they are pretty wonderful.  Its college football season.  For most people, the season got started last week but for TCU, my college alma mater, its this weekend.  We are playing UVA (bring it Andrea) tomorrow and I am very excited.  I knew when I made this salsa a few weeks ago that I would have to tell you about it to mark the beginning of TCU Football season.  I just couldn’t resist picking up a pint of purple (PURPLE!?) tomatillos at the market and I knew that I would turn them into salsa.

Tomatillo salsa is great because you can really control the amount of spice by the type of other peppers you toss in.  It is also a good idea to roast the tomatillos some to bring out their great flavor.  Even better if you can find some purples one, obviously, but if all you find is the traditionally ones, they will work too.

Purple “TCU” Tomatillo Salsa
Recipe adapted from Food in Jars

1 pint tomatillos, de-husked, rinsed and cut into halves
1 medium yellow or white onion, cut into chunks
2-3 garlic cloves for roasting
1 garlic clove, keep raw
1-2 jalapenos or 1 serrano, depending on how much spice you can handle
a handful of cilantro
Kosher salt
1 lime

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and put the tomatillos, garlic and onions on it. Roast for 10 to 15 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool until you can handle them.

Slip the garlic out of their skins by squeezing and toss everything from the pan into a blender or food processor. Add 1 raw garlic clove a handful of cilantro, a pinch of kosher salt, the jalapenos or serranos and the juice from the lime. Blend until it’s all combined and but not until its totally soupy. I like mine a little chunky. Perfect with tortilla chips or as topping for chicken enchiladas.

7 responses to “Purple Tomatillo Salsa

  1. Where did you get the purle tomatillos from? I’ve never seen them before.

  2. Emily-I got them at Green City. At the vendor just two or three to the right of Seedling Leaning Shed. They always have lots of peppers too.

  3. Love the colors of these tomatillos.

  4. Looks wonderful – might just have to pick up some tomatillos this morning!

  5. I’m so jealous that you go to Green City Market – I live too far, and I’ve never seen the purple tomatillos at my WF! Looks amazing!

  6. I guess im going to have to hit up Green City next Sat and look for those tomatillos… Sounds yummy

  7. I’m so glad you posted about this and the link to Food in Jars – this looks great and I plan to have it on the table next Saturday for the game(s)…love your blog – thanks for the great read! xo, Nan

Leave a Reply

