on a whim

One of the best things about shopping at the market for “whatever looks good” and not for the exact items on a recipe is that it leads to improvisation.  My Mom and Aunt were in town for a long weekend and one night I decided to make a batch of Kristin‘s addictive corn chowder since I always have corn (and bacon) on hand this time of year.  But I also wanted to make something a little bit special for dessert.  Luckily I had a bunch of peaches and raspberries sitting on my counter and I immediately thought that I would turn them into some sort of cobbler or crisp.  After searching recipes online for a while and not finding one that didn’t require a trip to the store for at least 1 item, I remembered that I have a crumble recipe that I know is good and surely I can just tweak it a bit.  And that is just what I did.

Raspberry and Peach Crumble
Tweaked from Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumble which originally was adapted from at Smitten Kitchen and Kristin at the Kitchen Sink

2/3 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup rolled oats
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon, divided
kosher salt
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and diced
2 cups of red raspberries, rinsed
3 cups of peaches, peeled and sliced (I used 3 peaches)
1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon Brandy
1 lemon for both juice and zest
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
raw sugar, optional

Preheat the oven to 375°.

Cut an X in the bottom of each peach.  Blanch the peaches in boiling water for a minute and the drain and rinse with cold water.  The skins should easily slip off.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, oats, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and a pinch of kosher salt. Cut in the 6 tablespoons chilled, diced butter using a pastry blender. Place the mixture in the refrigerator.

Generously butter a 9×9-inch pan. Set aside.

In another medium bowl, combine the peaches, raspberries ,sugar, cornstarch, Brandy, juice from lemon, zest, extract, remaining 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and a pinch of kosher salt. Spoon the mixture into the buttered dish. Cover the fruit mixture with the chilled crumble topping. Sprinkle vanilla sugar on top of the crumble. Bake for 30 minutes.

Serve warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I personally like Ben & Jerry’s Vanilla if I don’t have a batch of homemade tucked away in the freezer

4 responses to “on a whim

  1. That looks delicious! I often shop “on a whim” as well, and end up with some interesting and random stuff!

  2. Love that first photo – the combination of raspberries and peaches sounds so good!

  3. This looks amazing. Your “improvisation” becomes my recipe, though!

  4. Pingback: apples everywhere | Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

