little bites

Even though it is not even Halloween it seems like the Holiday season is fast approaching. Holiday decorations are filling the stores and Crate & Barrel has sent out its yearly holiday catalog. Even though I will admit that it is a tad early, it also makes me excited. For the first time in my life the holidays will be simply a time to celebrate and not intermixed with finals and papers. Even though I know that the holidays will stress me out because I will not have the funds to really shop for my friends and family, I will have to make up for it in the kitchen.

This year I am going to PA (Dave’s family) for Thanksgiving and I have been given the responsibility of helping his Dad cook the meal.  After tackling my own first turkey and what-not last year, I am up to the task, and it will be nice working in their kitchen.  But the holidays would not be the holidays without cookies.  Last year when Gourmet (tear) had a bunch of different holiday cookie covers, I immediately bookmarked a bunch but sadly did not have a lot of time to make any.  Not this year.

These Almond Moon cookies are a great place to start because they would look festive mixed in with any normal Christmas cookies, but are also perfect to have around for a simple weeknight.  They have a 10 day shelf life so you can keep them in an airtight container and enjoy them at home or even stashed away in your desk drawer.  I like mine on a pretty plate with a nice mug of herbal tea on a chilly fall night.

Almond Moon Cookies (printable recipe)
Adapted from Sweetness by Sarah Levy

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, warmed to room temperature
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 cup to coat cookies with Confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup almonds, slivered, finely chopped (use a food processor if you have one)

Preheat oven to 325F. In the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, cream butter until it is light and fluffy on medium high speed. Turn the mixer down to medium and slowly add in 1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar and the flour, mixing until well combined. Add in the vanilla extract. Turn of the mixer and add the almonds. Turn on the mixer on low speed and mix until the almonds are just combined, about 1 minute.

Use a 1 to 1 1/2 inch cookie scoop to scoop out the balls of dough and place on a cookie sheet, lined with a Silpat or parchment at least 1 inch apart. Stick the cookie sheet in the freezer or fridge for at least 10 minutes.

Bake at 325F for about 30 minutes, or until the bottoms are lightly brown. Cool the cookies fully on a wire rack. Pour the remaining 1 cup of confectioners sugar into a bowl and rolled the cookies around in the sugar until they are covered. Enjoy with a nice cup of tea or a tall glass of milk.

3 responses to “little bites

  1. These are similar to one of my favorite Christmas cookies – the version my family makes has walnuts instead of almonds, and calls them Russian Tea Cakes. You’re right; they’re a little bite of deliciousness!! So glad you’ll have time to bake and cook this holiday season. :)

  2. I have to admit: I’ve been in a bit of a Christmas mood, too, begun with listening to holiday music Friday at work. I was so surprised at how much I was enjoying it because usually I find Christmas a little anticlimactic and overcommercialized, but you know, maybe it really doesn’t have to be that way. I love that you’re already planning to bake your way through gifts and I love the looks of these cookies. Happy first-Christmas-with-no-finals-etc.! :)

  3. These look great :) they do look like little moons.

Leave a Reply

