a halloween twist

TKOs

I have been wanting to have a party. I thought about celebrating Lucy’s birthday (but some might think its weird to throw a party for a cat) or the fact that we all passed the Bar (but what if someone didn’t and I just didn’t know about it) but when I realized that Halloween was rollin’ around with no plans, I jumped on the opportunity to have a party. I have spent the past two days planning out an appetizer menu of sorts, shopping and starting the process of cooking everything but as soon as I saw these TKOs over at The Kitchn, I knew something that had to be on the list.

TKOs Mosaic

What are “TKOs” you ask? Only the famed Thomas Keller Oreos. While I haven’t had the opportunity to sample the real thing at Bouchon Bakery (believe me the first time I make it to Yountville, I know what I’m getting) but I have sure heard about them.

TKOs

I made them this morning, along with some stuffed mushrooms that I will surely tell you about, and I am excited that the turned out as well as they did. I tried one that broke a little when I moved it to the cooling rack (don’t you love when that happens?) and they are delicious. The cookies aren’t sweet but combined with the white chocolate ganache they are divine. It makes me excited to one day try the real thing. As you can see, I made one batch with a bat cookie cutter, but the rest just in a circle because they were easier to handle. I foresee making heart shaped with a little pink in the frosting.

TKOs

Thomas Keller Oreos (TKOs) (printable recipe)
from The Essence of Chocolate
Idea inspired by The Kitchn

Cookie:
1 1/2 cups plus 3 Tbsp all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup plus 1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp salt
15 Tbsp unsalted butter, cut into 3/4″ cubes, at room temperature

Filling:
1/2 cup heavy cream
8 oz. white chocolate, chopped

For the Filling: In a small pan, bring the cream to a boil. Remove from heat and add the chocolate. Let stand for 1 minute, then whisk to melt the chocolate until smooth. Transfer to a small bowl, and let stand for 6 hours to thicken up.

For the Cookies: In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt, and mix on low speed. With the mixer running, add the butter, a piece at a time. The mixture will be dry and sandy at first, but over 2 minutes, will form pebble-sie pieces that start to cling together.

Preheat oven to 350F. Seperate dough into 2 pieces. Roll each piece of dough between 2 pieces of plastic wrap or parchment paper to 1/8″ inch thick. Using a cookie cutter, cut into rounds or bats. Scraps can be pieced together and rolled out again. I found that it was good to stick the dough in the fridge because it became hard to work with when it got warm. Place 1/2″ apart on baking sheets lined with Silpat liners or parchment paper.

Bake for 12-15 minutes. Remove and cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to a cooling rack. Cool completely.

To Assemble: Lightly whip the white chocolate cream to aerate and fluff up. Using an offset spatula, spread a thing layer of cream onto one cookie. Top with another cookie to sandwich. Gently press down until the cream comes to the edges.

Cookies can be stored in a container for up to 3 days.

4 responses to “a halloween twist

  1. I love these so much, and so help me, if I have an opportunity to bring cookies somewhere soon, these are what I’ll be making.

  2. You know, I like in the Chicago suburbs. Any time you have some spare cookies, I’d be glad to take them off your hands…

  3. YUM! These are so cute! Oreos are one of my childhood favorites, but I love the idea of the white chocolate ganache.

    Can’t wait to hear about your party!

  4. Shannlee-They were cute but sorta a pain

    Jules-I will let you know when I have a cookie glut.

    Andrea-The ganache was pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

