packed full

Jalapeno Cheddar Scones

Can I let you in on a little secret?  My current kitchen obsession doesn’t revolve around my KitchenAid, or my growing collection from The Spice House, or gearing up for the Holiday cooking season.  My obsession lies with my freezer.

Jalapeno Cheddar Scones

A packed full freezer is a beautiful thing. On the nights where I just don’t feel like cooking, I have a quart of some lovely soup ready to be thawed and paired with a salad and some crusty bread. Now that the clocks have fallen back, darkness creeps in at 5PM, which only reminds me that winter is just around the corner.

Jalapeno Cheddar Scones

Good thing I have quarts of sweet corn, sliced peaches and pitted sour cherries ready to be dug out of a corner and transformed into a sweet reminder that the snow will thaw, and summer will come again.

Jalapeno Cheddar Scones
Jalapeño Cheddar Scones I saw over at the Smitten Kitchen…freeze-ability. It never fails that when I make a full loaf or batch of something, the last quarter sits on the counter and goes bad (note to self: add mini loaf pans to wish list). But when I see a recipe where I can freeze pieces individually, to be baked off while the aforementioned soup is defrosting on the stove, I jump at it. These scones fit the bill.

Jalapeno Cheddar Scones

Jalapeño-Cheddar Scones (printable recipe)
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen, via NYMag

I love a good scone but I always associated scones with something that is sweet. These scones almost turn out somewhat like a dense layered, cheesy biscuit that is oh so delicious.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons (1 stick) cold butter, diced {stick the diced butter on a plate in the freezer}
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 eggs {3 if you want to use one for an egg wash; I didn’t}
1/4 pound sharp Cheddar cheese, diced
2-3 small jalapeños pepper, minced {Don’t worry too much about the heat, these are really not spicy scones at all; somewhat to my dismay}

Preheat oven to 400°F. In a small skillet, melt 1/2 tablespoon of butter and sauté the jalapeños until they soften, about two minutes. Let them cool, then place them in a small bowl with the cheddar cheese and coat them with one tablespoon of the flour. Combine the remaining flour with the baking powder and salt. Cut in the remaining butter with a pastry blender, until the butter bits are pea sized.

Lightly whip two of the eggs and cream and then add to the pea sized flour-butter mixture. Using a wooden spoon, fold mixture until it begins to come together. Add the cheddar-jalapeño mixture to the dough and mix until everything is incorporated.

Turn out the dough onto a well-floured surface and knead gently for less than one minute. Pat dough out to a 3/4- to 1-inch thickness {make sure to get it thin enough, mine were a tad thick and kinda puffed up a lot once they were baked-not a bad thing, just not as pretty} and either cut into 8 triangles or the shape of your choice with a biscuit or round cookie cutter.

Optional: Make an egg wash by beating the remaining egg with a teaspoon of water. Brush the scones with egg wash.

Place scones on a parchment or Silpat lined baking sheet. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Scones are always best the first day which is why it is great to flash freeze any you don’t plan on eating. Simply stick the scones on a baking sheet and pop in the freezer until they are frozen. Remove from the baking sheet and store in a freezer strength zip tock bag. Add a few minutes to the baking time if necessary.

11 responses to “packed full

  1. i saw these too and thought they definitely looked like freezer material. but i still have blueberry scones in the freezer along with way too much other stuff! I totally need a freezer in the garage…. but since it’s a common area with our building i bet that wouldn’t jive…..

  2. I understand the freezer thing. It’s like a tankful of gas and a new book of stamps. ha!

  3. So true – I share your obsession with the jam-packed freezer…though I do have to admit while the thrill of pulling out some beautiful June strawberries is a little bittersweet, as I hate seeing my stash dwindle as the cold months pile on! But for now – it’s wonderful to have the flavors of summer hidden away for the dead of winter!

  4. I also saw these lovelies on Smitten Kitchen and can attest that they are indeed delish!

    Question for you about freezing biscuits…do you freeze them before or after baking?

    Love your blog!

  5. LIsaA-You freeze them before you bake them, after you have cut them into wedges or rounds. Then just add a couple of minutes to the baking time (or check when time is up and add if you feel like that they aren’t done yet).

    Jenn/Jennifer/Heather-gotta love the freezers!

  6. These look delicious!!! I, too, love stocking the freezer for winter. We’ve got many, many quart bags full of blackberries, peaches and roasted tomatoes, along with bags of baked goods. Yum!

  7. Thanks for the reminder about these scones–I saw them on Deb’s site a while back and meant to bookmark.

    You’re so efficient, with a freezer full of goodies. My freezer right now is full of things that need too much work: unrendered pork lard, chickens, stock… I need to start freezing soups for winter nights.

    And your photos look great, Whitney. I’ve been lazy about my blog reading and haven’t been here in a while… but they are really looking good!

  8. Pingback: a cure for darkness « Whitney in Chicago

  9. Andrea-I love a full freezer!

    Robin-Thank you so much! Major complement coming from someone as talented as you.

  10. Pingback: Cooking 101 in 1001 « This is StyckyWycket

  11. Pingback: good to the grain {a review} « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

