nibbly thingies

Rosemary Flatbread

Holiday season is upon us.  The Salvation Army bell ringers have set up on Wells by my apartment.  Christmas decorations fill the stores.  Thanksgiving Menus are being finalized and shopping lists created.  For the first time in my life I am getting to enjoy the holidays without finals looming, outlines to write and papers/memos to finalize.  Needless to say, I’m feeling the holiday cheer.  I’m sure that you have read about people’s turkey methods, pumpkin pie masterpieces and creative uses for the cranberry.  However, I am hear to tell you about a simple recipe that you could whip up to have as munchies in the kitchen while cooking your feast.

Rosemary Flatbread

I made a double batch of this Rosemary Flatbread a few weeks ago for a Halloween party but I think it would be a great thing to have around for the holidays.  It is simple to whip up and it is far more satisfying than anything that you could find in from a cracker box.  It would be perfect on a holiday hors d’oeurves table or just around to munch on while cooking.  I did use my pizza stone to cook them up on the oven.  If you make pizza (from a box or homemade) with any kind of regularity, a stone is a great investment.  Throw it on your holiday wish list.

Rosemary Flatbread

Rosemary Flatbread (printable recipe)

Recipe adapted from Gourmet

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon chopped rosemary plus 2 (6-inch) sprigs

1 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup olive oil plus more for brushing

Flaky sea salt or kosher

Preheat oven to 450°F with a pizza stock or heavy baking sheet on rack in middle.

Stir together flour, chopped rosemary, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Make a well in center, then add water and oil and gradually stir into flour with a wooden spoon until a dough forms. Pour dough onto a well floured work surface and knead dough gently 4 or 5 times.

Divide dough into 3 pieces and roll out 1 piece on a sheet of parchment paper into a 10-inch round. It doesn’t need to be perfect because the flatbread looks rustic but make sure its thin.

Lightly brush top with additional olive oil and scatter small clusters of rosemary leaves on top, pressing in slightly. Sprinkle with sea salt. Slide round (still on parchment) onto preheated pizza stone or baking sheet and bake until pale golden and browned in spots, 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer flatbread (discard parchment or save for use for another batch like I did) to a rack to cool, then make 2 more rounds (1 at a time) on fresh parchment (do not oil or salt until just before baking). Break into pieces. Try not to eat all at once, which will be difficult.

Flatbread can be made 2 days ahead and cooled completely, then kept in an airtight container at room temperature.

14 responses to “nibbly thingies

  1. Thank you for posting this! I had this at Whitney’s Halloween party, and man, it is yummy! I cannot wait to make some!

  2. I’m reading this while enjoying a bowl of my roasted parsnip soup for lunch, and I want some of that flatbread right NOW! Might have to figure out a gluten-free version of this one – it looks so great!

  3. This rosemary bread looks delicious! I could practically smell the rosemary while sitting at my desk! I got into the holiday spirit this past weekend when Scott and I stopped by Macy’s on State Street – they have the Christmas displays up, as I’m sure you know. They were just putting the tree up in Daley Plaza too – now that says Christmas for sure!

  4. Are you going through Gourmet withdrawal yet? Bread looks great and pretty easy to make. It would be a great compliment to a big bowl of soup for dinner.

  5. I’ve made this recipe several times for family gatherings, as well as by myself for a yummy treat — so easy, yet tasty and receive tons of compliments. Great for the holidays!

    Cheers,

    *Heather*

  6. looks wonderful – i love rosemary and in flatbread? how perfect!

  7. WOW-those look incredible!

  8. i’m planning on planting some rosemary in my garden. This is lovely, especially with the salt.

  9. The nibbly things are often my favourite part of the holidays. What great texture, I could see these going quickly with drinks.

  10. Just found your blog & I’m so excited to follow along :) This recipe really does look delicious for the holidays – thanks for sharing!

  11. I’ve been thinking it would be nice to have something along these lines on Thanksgiving, something not too filling but absolutely delicious to snack on pre-dinner. I’m bookmarking it…

  12. This looks deliciously easy :)

  13. Wow, what a great idea! I hadn’t thought about flatbread as an appetizer/nibbler. Wonderful thinking and thanks for sharing!

  14. Julia-Yay!

    Jenn-Did you try a GF version yet?

    Jen-Rosemary is so festive isn’t it??

    Emily-I miss Gourmet so much. Just thinking about the holiday cookie covers from last year makes me sad.

    Heather-It really is a great recipe!

    KMS/Lauren/Kitchen Butterfly-Glad you like them!

    Tara-I love little snacks at parties

    Rebecca-Glad to have you!

    Hungry Dog-I hope you have tried it!

    Patty-Thanks!

Leave a Reply

