baked in a bowl

Baked Potato Soup

Sorry that I haven’t been adding much content to this place lately.  The early (like 4:15PM early) darkness makes it hard to ever take good evening pictures (hence the less than stellar ones on this post), 5 days in Philly for Thanksgiving, and then starting a full-time (albeit somewhat temporary) job this week has given me less time in my kitchen.  Winter has actually arrived in Chicago with freezing temps and light flurries swirling in the loop.  Its probably no surprise to you that I am talking about another soup recipe.  

Baked Potato Soup

I love soup.  Soup usually isn’t too much active work in the kitchen with lots of rewards.  A pot of soup usually yields to a dinner for me and Dave, plus a couple of quarts frozen to have for a quick weeknight dinner.  As I write I currently have a pot of different soup simmering on the stove.  However, I want to tell you about this Baked Potato Soup.  This soup was actually one of the first things that I made for me and Dave when we started living together, and I have made it many times since, but somehow its managed to stay off the blog.  I originally got this recipe from Yum Sugar (which I read before I had filled my reader with awesome blogs) but its from Cooking Light.  This soup really does taste like a perfect baked potato in a bowl.  Perfect with a salad or a side of vegetables.

Baked Potato Soup

Baked Potato Soup
Adapted from Cooking Light

Feel free to use whatever fat level cheese and milk that you wish. I used 1% milk because thats what I keep and full-fat cheese, because real cheese is GOOD.

4 baking potatoes (about 2 1/2 pounds)
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
6 cups milk
1 cup (4 ounces) shredded extrasharp cheddar cheese, divided
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 cup sour cream
3/4 cup chopped green onions, divided
6 bacon slices, cooked and crumbled
Cracked black pepper (optional)

Preheat oven to 400°.

Pierce potatoes with a fork; bake at 400° for 1 hour or until tender. Cool until you can handle them. Cut the potatoes in half and scoop out all the “meat” leaving the skins in tact into a bowl. Then mashed them up to the point that they are still chunky.

Place flour in a large Dutch oven; gradually add milk, stirring with a whisk until blended. Cook over medium heat until thick and bubbly (about 8 minutes). Add mashed potatoes, 3/4 cup cheese, salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper, stirring until cheese melts. Remove from heat.

Stir in sour cream and 1/2 cup onions. Cook over low heat 10 minutes or until thoroughly heated Be careful, I’ve burned the bottom of the soup more than once because it really is kinda thick so don’t leave the stove and stir every minute or so. Sprinkle each serving with 1 1/2 teaspoons cheese, 1 1/2 teaspoons onions, and about 1 tablespoon bacon. Garnish with cracked pepper, if desired.

15 responses to “baked in a bowl

  1. This looks so good! I have a ton of potatoes to use so this will be going on the menu this weekend :)

  2. YUM! I wish I had a bowl of this soup tonight – I don’t think I’ve thawed yet from the commute home. Brrrr!

    I just got a Lowel Ego portable light from B&H Photo for indoor/winter shots, and it’s really helping – might want to put that on your Christmas list for Santa!

  3. This recipe looks wonderful, Whitney. Sounds like a perfect lunch for a bone-chilling day like today.

  4. *oh mama*

    as soon as I saw this soup I knew that there was no way I was going to make it! But then I saw that it was from Cooking Light, one of my fave recipe sources, and I knew I have to have it. I think this is going to be my weekend project. :)

  5. I agree with Raquel – i love cooking light mag and they really do surprise you with their surprisingly lower fat versions of typically heavy dishes – just like this one!!

  6. Baked potato soup is great for a snowy Chicago day! I had some yesterday and it was fantastic. I think my husband are heading into downtown Chicago tomorrow to check out Navy Pier. I’m sure it will be cold..brrr..

  7. Mmmm, comfort in a bowl. My mom used to make potato soup every winter and I would eat it for days! I’m feeling all nostalgic just reading this recipe =) Definitely gonna need to try this. Thank you!

  8. I agree, real cheese is good. And, this soup looks really good too, particularly on these cold, dark winter nights.

  9. I feel the same way about soup…love, love, love. We’ve been making a lot of it lately as well. This one looks delicious, I’m warmed just thinking about it. :)

  10. Tracey-Hope you enjoyed it!

    Jenn-I’m considering the lights but they are expensive and I need to find a place in my tiny apt to set them up!

    Kristin-I hope you try it!

    Raquel/Heather-I just started subscribing to Cooking Light and I am a fan.

    Jen-Hope you stayed warm! I think winter is here to stay.

    Courtney-I hope you liked it!

    Hungry dog-real cheese is very good :)

    Andrea-I don’t think I could survive Chicago winters without soup.

  11. Pingback: Sizzlin Bacon Potato Soup photos | MyBacon

  12. Pingback: Nice Potato Bacon Soup photos | MyBacon

  13. Pingback: Baked Potato Soup | MyBacon

  14. Pingback: Baked Potato Soup | Potato Bake | Scalloped Potatoes Cookers and Recipes

  15. Pingback: Cool Potato Bake images | Potato Bake | Scalloped Potatoes Cookers and Recipes

Leave a Reply

