I can’t take the credit…

…for these beautiful tarts.

Chocolate Pecan Tarts

Rich (Dave’s Dad) and I divided and conquered the dinner portion of the Thanksgiving meal, while Dave, his sister and his mom were in charge of the desserts. Deb (mom) and Betsy (sister) made these absolutely wonderful tarts. I simply just stole them for a picture. Can you believe that this above picture is straight out of the camera, with only a little cropping? It’s amazing what some really nice natural light can do. I love my old town high-rise apartment, but I can’t say that we get good light in it.

Chocolate Pecan Tarts

But you are here to hear about these tarts. I loved these little tarts. These tarts were a result of the pie voting being split between something chocolately and pecan pie so Deb decided to find a way to put them together. I enjoyed mine on Thanksgiving evening with a dollop of whipped cream and a mug of coffee. I might have had another one the next day, slightly warmed in the microwave (15 secs) with more coffee, while sitting at a sun-filled breakfast table. And I loved every bite. Out of everything on the Thanksgiving table, these tarts were my favorite. Make some for the holidays, you won’t regret it.

Chocolate Pecan Tarts

Chocolate Pecan Tarts
From the recipe files of Deb, loosely adapted from a Walnut Tartlet recipe from Martha

Makes 8-10 3-1/2 inch tartlets

Ingredients:
8-10 3-1/2 inch tartlet shells, unbaked (pastry for approximately 1 pie crust)
3 ounces semisweet chocolate
3 Tbsp unsalted butter
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 Tbsp heavy cream
3/4 cup light corn syrup
2 cups coarsely chopped pecans
8-10 pecan halves, for garnish

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt chocolate and butter together in microwave. Beat eggs and sugar together in a mixing bowl. Stir in chocolate/butter mixture, cream, corn syrup, and chopped pecans.
Spoon mixture into tartlet shells, filling each about 3/4 full. Top each with a pecan half for garnish.

Bake for approximately 30 minutes until filling bubbles and begins to set and pastry is golden. Cool completely on a wire rack; filling will set fully.

Serve at room temperature or slightly warm with vanilla ice cream or freshly whipped cream.

11 responses to “I can’t take the credit…

  1. These look so adorable! What a yummy idea!

  2. They are beautiful. Winter light in Chicago is pretty bad for photos. :(

  3. They do look extra tasty! And you’re right – Chicago lighting sucks, especially in December :) I finally broke down and bought “fake light”!

  4. The photos are indeed incredible–natural light can go a long way–but those tarts just look plain delicious. I love miniature desserts…you can eat more of them.

  5. Those sound amazing!

    And you’re right, natural light is amazing. :) I wish I had more windows in my kitchen!

  6. ooh I could eat those right now! Love pecans, love chocolate, these are to die for.

  7. Oh my gosh… those look so good! I love serving mini desserts like that because everyone always enjoys digging into their own little piece of heaven!

  8. oneordinaryday

    Simply gorgeous!

  9. Pingback: Chocolaty Weekend Links : Chocolate Bytes - All About Chocolate – Delicious Chocolate Recipes

  10. These tarts are so lovely! I made some savory tarts with new mini tins I recently acquired…I think half the fun was their size! :)

Leave a Reply

