that sparkle

Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies

The holidays have a new sorta sparkle on them this year.  I am not currently waist deep into finals.  I have a new string of jingle bells hanging from our front door.  My holiday cards are in the mail and my gifts are purchased (and wrapped!) under our tree. We leave for PA to celebrate the holidays with Dave’s family in a week where we will be met with cooking/baking in a nice kitchen, cute golden retrievers, lots of wine, and great people.

Zoo Lights

This past weekend I had a few of my favorite TCU friends in town. We ate great food, did a little bit of Christmas shopping, saw the Zoo Lights at the Lincoln Park Zoo and laughed like we did in college.

Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Mosaic

The holidays are also the time to make sparkly cookies. I had this recipe passed along to me via facebook and as soon as I saw it, I knew that I had to make them. I personally don’t always jump at ginger flavored cookies but chocolate and ginger is an entirely different proposition.  I’ve seen these flavors in bar form, but I knew that I would enjoy the chewiness of the cookies.  The best part about them is rolling them in some super sparkly sugar.

First Snow 2009

The best part about these cookies, however, was waking up to the first real snow of the season, making a plateful and taking pictures in the snow on the balcony. A little sparkle for the season, indeed.

Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies (printable recipe)
Adapted from Martha Stewart

5 to 7 ounces best-quality semisweet chocolate
1 1/2 cups plus 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves or allspice {I used allspice since I was out of cloves}
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon table salt
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
1/2 cup dark-brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup unsulfured molasses
1 teaspoon baking soda
Sparkling white sugar (or sugar in the raw or normal sugar)

Chop chocolate into 1/4-inch chunks; set aside. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, ground ginger, cinnamon, cloves/all spice, nutmeg, and cocoa.

Beat butter and grated ginger in a mixer until whitened, about 4 minutes. Add brown sugar; beat until combined. Add molasses and beat until combined.

In a small bowl, dissolve baking soda in 1 1/2 teaspoons boiling water. Beat half of flour mixture into butter mixture. Beat in baking-soda mixture, then remaining half of flour mixture. Mix in chocolate and then dump dough onto a piece of plastic wrap. Pat dough out to about 1 inch thick and seal with plastic wrap. Refrigerate until firm, at least 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or nonstick baking mats. Roll dough into 2-inch balls, a cookie scoop is great here and place 2 1/2 inches apart on baking sheets. Refrigerate 20 minutes. Roll dough balls in sparkling sugar and return to baking sheets. Transfer to oven and bake until surfaces crack slightly, about 18 minutes.** Let cool 5 minutes; transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

**Don’t pull them out too early. I took my first batch out and then they fell apart when I tried to move them after cooling. The next batch worked much better because they were really done.

7 responses to “that sparkle

  1. I heart ginger and chocolate and your cookies look fantastic! Thanks for sharing :)

  2. It’s ginger cookie madness! I just blogged about ginger cookies too – but they were loaded with three kinds of ginger rather than chocolate. I might have to give these a try outta curiosity!

  3. Those look amazing! There is nothing I like more than a thin, yet chewy, cookie! Thanks for sharing – I just might have to add this recipe to my holiday cookie baking extravaganza! :)

  4. I’ll be posting a triple ginger cookie recipe this week too! I love ginger, and the chocolate combo sounds fabulous. Will have to give these a try..

  5. Two of my favorite things! The Spice House and zoo lights in Lincoln Park. And lovely cookies!

  6. I’m loving the sparkle on your cookies! I can’t seem to get enough gingerbread/molasses cookies these days. With the addition of chocolate, I think this puts them over the top delicious. Can’t wait to try these with my next cup of coffee.

  7. These sound and look incredible. I love the sparkly sugar. Thanks for posting the recipe!

Leave a Reply

