a new decade

2009 was a crazy year.  I graduated law school, studied for the Bar and then thankfully passed the Bar.  I traveled to Disney, Texas (twice), NYC, and West Chester.  I ran a 10 mile race and enjoyed the farmer’s market season.  I met many new wonderfully inspiring people both in person and through our blogs.  But really, I mainly just cooked and ate, a lot.

2009

Good thing I also like to run, right? 2010 is already shaping up to being a great year to start new the decade. I am signed up for half-marathon training through Chicago Endurance Sports for a early May half which will maybe put me in a position to run Chicago in October (maybe?!). I am going to give a shot at taking a picture everyday during 2010 which you can follow here. But mainly, 2010 is starting out on the right foot because of this.

The Proposal

Dave asked me to marry him last night, in front of our closest friends at the NYE party we hosted at our apartment. Tomorrow we are traveling to La Jolla/San Diego with his family for a week reprieve from the Chicago winter. I’m positively giddy right now and I am so happy that I have this little space to share my happiness with you. Thank you for reading Whitney in Chicago during 2009 and I can’t wait to share my kitchen (and a little of my life) with you in 2010. Happy New Year!!!

18 responses to “a new decade

  1. So incredibly happy for you guys, Whitney. I’m thrilled to have found both you and your blog in 2009 and will be keeping up with you and all that is to come. Have a great trip!

  2. Congratulations, Whitney! What a fantastic start to the year. Have a great trip, too. I recommend Whisknladle in La Jolla, if you’re in need of restaurant ideas.

  3. Congratulations! Sounds like a pretty good way to start the year :)

  4. congrats again, whitney, and have fun on your trip!

  5. oneordinaryday

    Wonderful way to ring in the new year! Congratulations.

  6. Congratulations! What a perfect way to begin a new decade. Wishing you both all the best!

  7. WOW!!! CONGRATULATIONS! What a great way to start the new year!

  8. What a wonderful start to the new decade! Well done, Dave! And I *love* the ring photo with the resolutions – adorable. I wish you a lifetime of happiness. And I may join you in the 365 project – just need to get a working pocket cam in case I see anything cool during the workday. :)

  9. Congrats!! What a great way to start of a new year :) Good luck with the P365. I did one last year, and started a new one this year. I was amazed by how many simple things and moments I found throughout the day that were beautiful.

  10. Congratulations!!!!!! What wonderful news! Wishing you and Dave a wonderful 2010 — it sounds like it’s already shaping up to be! Have a great trip to La Jolla (sounds like a great reprieve from the Chicago winter.) :)

  11. whitney, congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2010 promises to be pretty awesome!

  12. Salut’ on the wedding proposal.

    Also..good luck on your prep for Chicago..

  13. Mazel tov! Best wishes to the both of you!

  14. AWWW CONGRATS! That is so cute, and what a great way to start the new year. Awesome! You were one busy girl last year. I love looking at all your pictures. Congrats again. Have fun in the warmth!

  15. Aww…YAY! I am so excited for you, Whitney!!! And, pretty pleased to “know” you too! :)

  16. Congratulations! What a lovely and creative way to ask! And a wonderful ny’s gift.

  17. Pingback: sorry for the silence « Whitney in Chicago

  18. Pingback: millionaire’s shortbread « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

