sorry for the silence

San Diego

How rude of me!  I tell you how wonderful it is to have this space to share my very exciting news and then I disappear and ignore it for 12 days.  Well I had a good reason.  Just after New Years, Dave and I met his family for a vacation in San Diego.  What a week we picked to be in Southern California!  I think literally every other place in the country was freezing, even FL. And we did everything to enjoy it to the fullest.

La Jolla Sunset Mosaic

There were sunsets…

Walks on the Beach Mosaic

And walks along the beach…

Hiking in Torrey Pines State Reserve Mosaic

Some hiking and running…

Temecula Wineries Mosaic

And some wine tasting….But mainly we just spent a lot of time laughing.

San Diego

I took lots of pictures which you can check out over here. We stayed in La Jolla, which was simply beautiful. Ate out at two fantastic restaurants. My head exploded a little at the “London’s Burning” cocktail at Whisknladle (recommended to me Kristin, Thanks!) which included Gin, Avocado, Jalapeno and Lime. We went to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Temecula Wine Country, and the Torrey Pines State Reserve. It was the perfect trip! (The only downer was TCU’s performance in the Fiesta Bowl but I can’t dock San Diego points for that.)

No recipe today, but if you come back tomorrow I will tell you about these treats. I also joined the Project 365 party so follow my daily picture taking here.

2 responses to “sorry for the silence

  1. hey whitney! welcome back, and lovely photos! looks like you had a great time. i’m going to san francisco next month to visit family and meet my new niece! can’t wait.

  2. Pingback: millionaire’s shortbread « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

