peanut butter cookies {and a giveaway!}

Peanut Butter Cookies w/ Milk Chocolate Chunks

I can’t believe its been 8 days since I told you about these Sloppy Joes but I have a somewhat good excuse; I was working. I was placed on a temporary document review project that lasted for 60 hours from Friday-Tuesday. And let me tell you, after starring at a computer screen in an office suite halfway up a Chicago landmark for 10-11 hours straight, I couldn’t conceive of looking at my laptop at home. My reader filled, my twitter feed remained untouched, my project 365 pictures weren’t uploaded and a couple half-marathon workouts were skipped but now I’m back…

Peanut Butter Cookies w/ Milk Chocolate Chunks

…And here to tell you about these peanut butter cookies. Not surprisingly, they are from the Baked Cookbook which has officially become the best sweets cookbook on my shelf. Everything that I have made from it as been bakery quality wonderful on the first try and I’m planning on tackling a 3 layered birthday cake from it this weekend. I love this cookbook so much, that I am going to give one away!

Peanut Butter Cookies w/ Milk Chocolate Chunks

Leave a comment on this post for an entry, tweet about this contest for another entry or link back to this post from your own blog for a third. I will let it run for a week until April 1st at 10AM CST. [This giveaway is now closed]. Believe me, if you don’t have this book on your shelves, you are seriously missing out. {This is not a sponsored giveaway, it is coming from my own pocket and I will just ship to you directly from Amazon. US Addresses only.}

Peanut Butter & Chocolate

But back to these cookies. One thing to note it that they need some time in the fridge to firm up before they are scooped up so don’t plan to make them just a few hours before an Oscar party like I did. {The fact that the first instruction is not “preheat the oven” should have been my first clue.} So I just decided to make them later, for a mid-week treat. The dough is dangerously delicious before it is baked and I was glad I only managed to eat 3 or 4 cookies before sending the rest with Dave to work. I also frozen a few and I will let you know how they work being baked off from the freezer.

Peanut Butter Cookies w/ Milk Chocolate Chunks

The best part about these chewy peanut butter cookies were the subtle hint of milk chocolate in every other bite. **They warn you against the temptation of throwing in a semi-sweet or dark chocolate instead of milk. The flavor will be different and not as good. I cut chunks from a thick Callebaut milk chocolate hunk which proved a little difficult in cutting up. Next time I will try to find a thinner quality bar.

Peanut Butter Cookies with Milk Chocolate Chunks (printable recipe)
Recipe adapted from the greatest cookbook ever Baked

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened, cut into pieces
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup creamy peanut butter {please buy a good “natural” type with only peanuts and maybe salt as an ingredient}
6 ounces good milk chocolate, chopped**

Mix (or sift if you are fancy) the flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.

In an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter and sugars together until fluffy. Scrape down the bowl and add the eggs, one at a time and beat until just incorporated. It should be light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and peanut butter and beat until just incorporated.

Add half of the flour mixture and mix for a bit and then add the remaining and mix until just incorporated. Using a spatula, fold in the chocolate. Cover the bowl with some plastic wrap and refrigerate for 3 hours.

Preheat the oven to 375F. Line your baking sheets with parchment or a Silpat. Using a cookie scoop or a tablespoon place the dough balls about 2 inches apart. With your palm, gently press down the balls into a tall disk shape. Sprinkled each ball with sparking sugar, sugar in the raw or normal sugar; whatever you have. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, turning the pans halfway if your oven has any hot spots but don’t both if you aren’t doing both pans at the same time. You want the tops to just begin to brown.

Remove the pan from the oven and cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Then transfer the cookies to a wire rack with a spatula. Have one with some milk while they are still warm.

39 responses to “peanut butter cookies {and a giveaway!}

  1. Fabulous giveaway for a baker like myself! Thanks for the opportunity and I’m crossing my fingers to win :)

  2. I would love to attempt a 3-layer cake as well :) Your PB cookies look delicious!!!

  3. Yum! Those look tasty! I love peanut butter and chocolate together.

  4. I love peanut butter – those look absolutely delicious! Doesn’t help that it’s lunchtime and my stomach is growling as I read your post.

  5. Congrats on the job, and on being done! :) Welcome back.

    I am DYING to own this book. I keep trying to get it from the local library but it is always loaned out. I hope I win! :)

  6. The peanut butter and milk chocolate combo of these cookies is a favorite here so I’ll definitely give them a shot. Everything you’ve made from Baked looks amazing Whitney! I’ve borrowed the book from my library but would love to own a copy :)

  7. I love that cookbook! Your post reminds me that I need to check it out from the library again :)

  8. Yuuuuuuum! Those look delicious…and I’d love to add that book to my Baking Cookbooks collection :)

  9. I have been looking for a really good peanut butter cookie recipe for a while and man do those pictures whet my appetite! Your cookies look splendid!

  10. Love the milk chocolate tip.. I’ve recently stopped being a chocolate snob and have gone back to using m.c. when it seems right.

    Your site is looking fab, Whitney!

  11. YUM. Would love to win.

  12. Those look so yummy! I am going to have to check that cookbook out =)

  13. If I win, you can save on shipping! :)

    Cookies look yums. Like everything you make. Can’t wait to taste the cake!

  14. Would love a copy of this. everything looks so wonderful.

  15. oneordinaryday

    Great giveaway! I love this book but don’t own it. I keep borrowing from the library instead, so I’d love to have one of my own. : ) Thanks for the chance to win.

  16. These look great! I’ve heard so much about the baked cookbook!

  17. These look great! I can’t wait to try them!

  18. I cannot wait to make these for my fiance, a lover of anything peanut butter. This cookie might become a staple in our cookie jar (which now, sadly, holds Snickers bites and Reese’s). Thank you for sharing with us; I love your site and hope to win the cookbook! It sounds fabulous – like something my sweet grandmother would have loved. I learned everything I know about baking from Bernice, my “grammerr.”

  19. So glad I found this blog! Fellow Chicagoan and photography enthusiast. Looking forward to reading more recipes! (and hope I win the book)

  20. I’ve flipped through this cookbook once or twice at the bookstore, always wide-eyed afterward. Definitely something that should end up on my shelf some day. Enjoy the cookies.

    Cheers,

    *Heather*

  21. Those look wonderful! I;ve been reading your blog for a long time now and your photos have really become lovely!

  22. What a nice giveaway! I recently sent my brother a care package full of PB cookies, but the recipe was missing something. I’d like to try again with this vouched-for version, and I’m sure my brother wouldn’t mind another batch. :)

    P.S.: Kudos on powering through doc review. Our office was host to a team of temp attorneys last week, and it seemed like an intense job!

  23. I’ve heard a million good things about that book! And those cookies look ridiculously amazing. Would loooooove a copy of that cookbook!

  24. Yum! I’ve heard great things about that book. Guess I should check it out!

  25. Yummo! Why is it that milk chocolate and pb go so well together when normally I prefer dark?

  26. Would Love a copy!!! Fingers Crossed!!!

  27. Wow, what a great offer, to give that cookbook away, can’t go wrong with PB!

  28. since i’ve already sampled some of the Baked wonderfulness….I’d love to win it! :-)

  29. It must be a pretty stellar book for you to want to give one away and share the love that much!

    Those cookies do look incredible and for the record: pb cookies are easily in my top five! I’m with you on the natural pb too – I can’t stand the idea of all that extra muck in what is so simple and good!

  30. After attempting a variation of the famous brownie recipe, I think this is a book I need on my shelf. After glancing the peanut butter cookie photos over my shoulder, a few coworkers agree. I’m with you on the clean food but, of course, just checked the label of the PB sitting at my desk and what do you know?
    Roasted peanuts (lovely), sugar (huh?) fully hydrogenated vegetable oils (getting grosser and also more confusing…peanuts have plenty o oil), salt (fine, about 6% DV for what it’s worth) and CORN SYRUP. Throwing it away and trying again at the store tonight.

  31. Thanks everyone who have entered so far! Just a few more days and I will pick the winner.

    To Kiss the Cook: Isn’t it amazing when you really look at the labels and think why?

  32. Looks delicious! I’ve been dying to try their recipes!

  33. This book looks fabulous! Normally I’m all about the dark chocolate, but that tip on using milk choc in these cookies is really interesting – I could eat a whole plate of these for breakfast. :)

  34. Therese Dansby

    Yum! Sugar crystals on top make everything better :-) But PB cookies hardly need improvement. The Baked cookbook is definitely on my Amazon.com wishlist now!

  35. these cookies sound divine. i prefer dark chocolate, but have to agree that with peanut butter, milk is the way to go. i’ve been meaning to buy this book for far too long! thanks for the giveaway.

  36. Just send me the cookies and I would be happy! :-)

  37. I visited the Charleston, S.C. branch of Baked on a recent trip and loved it, so when I saw your recipe I knew I had to make it! Just took the cookies out of the oven and they are excellent! The milk chocolate is such a nice counterpoint to the peanut butter.

    One tiny thing- I think you accidentally left out how much vanilla one is supposed to use.

    Thanks for yet another great post!

  38. There in the oven RIGHT NOW!! can’t wait, the recipe look awesome. Thanks for all the pictures

  39. I can never have enough dessert cookbooks! :D Btw, that hunk of Callebaut chocolate looks like a book! lol

Leave a Reply

