breakfast tacos

Breakfast Tacos

When I was a kid, we used to go on a lot of camping trips, simply because Texas is blessed with many wonderful state parks and my Mom is an avid birdwatcher. We even went as far as the Rockies in Colorado and Glacier National Park in Montana/Canada. I can remember spending hours laying in a hammock, tied between two trees with a big book. Or asking my Aunt Fay if she wanted another martini (apparently gin martinis with lots of olives were the drink of choice for the adults, my 8 year-old brain didn’t know the difference). But one of the best things about camping, was the food. Specifically, breakfast tacos.

April 25th

You see, camp food needs to be easy. You want to be able to make a large quantity of food that can feed hungry campers on a tiny little propane stove. Breakfast tacos fit the bill. All you need to do is scramble up some eggs, fry some bacon and warm some tortillas and let the assembly begin. Back in the day, I probably topped mine with a little Pace picante (which just makes me shudder now).

Breakfast Tacos

But breakfast tacos are a perfectly acceptable weekend breakfast (or even weeknight dinner) in a high-rise urban apartment. My breakfast tacos are a little more sophisticated that the variety of my youth. Now I will add some mashed up avocado if I have a good one around and some grated Monterey or pepper jack cheese.

Breakfast Tacos

Add a slice of bacon, topped it off with a healthy dash of Cholula and wrapped up in a good tortilla (which are a tad difficult to find in Chicago), delicious.  Breakfast tacos are also infinitely adaptable.  Leave out the spice for those who can’t handle.  Add some hot sauce to the eggs at the end of cooking if thats up your alley.  Mash up a few black beans if you have those around.  Buy some oversized tortillas and make it a breakfast burrito instead.  Or be super gourmet and start with some homemade corn tortillas (which I will totally try out once I have one of these).

Breakfast Tacos
More of a method than a recipe, but still a Whitney in Chicago original

Serves 2: Increase the quantities if you are actually camping with a crowd

4 eggs, preferably from a real farmer, or at least cage-free
Milk, just a dash
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
4-6 strips of bacon; cooked until your preferred level of crispness
4-6 tortillas, flour or if you are lucky to have access to good ones, corn
1/2 cup-ish grated cheese, I prefer Monterey but whatever you have around, cheddar, mexican blend, whatnot
Optional: hot sauce, salsa, avocado, etc

Scramble the eggs and warm the tortillas: Here is how I do it, but ignore, if you know how to scramble eggs.

Heat your favorite pan with a little cooking spray and turn on your oven to 250. Wrap your tortillas in a kitchen towel and stick in the oven to heat. While the pan is heating, crack the eggs into a large bowl and add a dash of milk. Whisk the eggs until the yolks and the whites are incorporated. I think it looks a little “fluffy”. Now the pan should be hot. Pour the eggs into the pan and let them cook a little. Sorta looks like you are starting an omelet, but you will kill it. Swipe the eggs around the circumference of the pan, so that the wet eggs get contact with the bottom. Continue the process until they are mostly cooked. Sprinkle a little cheese on top so it gets melty. Transfer the eggs into a bowl for serving.

Assemble your taco: Take a tortilla and add a little egg, avocado, cheese, hot sauce and a slice of bacon. Fold in half and then tuck in the bottom. Eat and enjoy.

9 responses to “breakfast tacos

  1. Yum. I want some breakfast tacos – NOW! Such good comfort food. Might have to whip some of these up this weekend. Beautiful photos, too!

  2. they do sound tasty. and i’ll take the spice please, and thank you :).

    also, i have an aunt faye too – but she didn’t drink martinis!

  3. I’m going camping in Virginia one of these weekends, and this is great camp-food inspiration. I’m worried enough about being able to pitch a tent, so I was just planning on having a simple granola-and-soymilk breakfast; your photos are convincing me I should rethink those plans!

  4. I saw the title of this and thought “MMMMMMMMMM YES”. The ones I used to love most in Austin when I lived there (Juan in a Million) also featured potatoes. Carby cheesy goodness.

  5. Your bacon looks beautiful! So much flavor packed into a tortilla roll and I love the addition of the avocado.

  6. these look fantastic — so many of my favorite ingredients! i would even brave camping for these (well, maybe)! :-)

  7. these would go so fast in my house. thanks so much for the recipe!

    xo Alison

  8. I absolutely love breakfast tacos. I love the combination of eggs, cheese, salsa, and veggie in a tortilla. It reminds me of Southern California and Mexico whenever I eat one. These look delicious!

  9. Your tacos look awesome! They also have great ones at Hub51…

Leave a Reply

