sunday scones

Clementine-Cherry Scones

Sundays are for scones.  Especially freshly baked ones.  I can’t think of anything better than a scone, fresh out of your own oven, with a big mug of rich French-pressed Intelligentsia coffee.  Scones in my mind are also a weekend thing.  This is strange because it really is simple to freeze the scones pre-baking to quickly bake off for a weekday morning but then you can’t linger with them on a pretty plate while sipping coffee.  Just doesn’t seem right to woof ‘em down en route on the bus to work.

Clementine-Cherry Scones

Lately, homemade scones are a Sunday thing because my Saturday mornings are now filled with 6AM runs until 10/10/10. I will admit that I have enjoyed a few scones purchased after my run from either Floriole or Hoosier Mama at Green City but I always wish that I have made my own batch.

Clementine-Cherry Scones

This recipe isn’t new but its such a winner I wanted to talk about it again. This time around I didn’t have any oranges on hand but I did have some late-season clementines so I used those instead. I think it would also be great with lemon and dried blueberries.

Clementine-Cherry Scones
Recipe (barely) adapted from Eggs on Sunday (printable recipe)

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
zest of 3-4 clementines
1/2 cup dried cherries, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup honey
1 cup heavy cream
1 package of “sugar in the raw” or any coarse sugar (somewhat optional)

Preheat the oven to 425F. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Toss in the  zest and dried cherries and stir until well combined.

In a large liquid measuring cup, whisk together 1/4 cup of honey and 1 cup of heavy cream. Slowly, pour this mixture into the bowl with the dry ingredients, and lightly stir with a fork until the mixture comes together in moist clumps but don’t overmix. Bring the dough together in the bowl by gathering the dough in the bowl and kneading it against the side of the bowl a few times to gather any loose crumbs.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface and pat into a 1-inch thick disk. You can either cut it into wedges, or use a 2-inch cookie cutter to cut out a shape. (Hearts or stars work well). Whichever way you do it, place the cut scones on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a Silpat. If you want to save some scones for another morning put the baking sheet in the freezer until the scones are frozen, then store them in a ziptop bag. Bake directly from the freezer on a lined baking sheet.

When ready to bake, brush the tops of the scones with a little cream (or milk if you are out) and sprinkle with coarse sugar. Bake for 15 minutes (17 minutes if frozen), until golden brown and puffed.

7 responses to “sunday scones

  1. I know exactly what you mean about weekend morning breakfasts. I don’t drink coffee Monday through Friday, because I’d rather chill out with my French press and enjoy a mug of something awesome.

    Other than a couple of lame store-bought versions, I’ve never had a real scone! Yours look deliciously flaky on top. I’ll have to try some next weekend, after berry picking. :)

  2. Mmmm…I love scones! It has been to long since I have made some…must do that soon. I have an orange/dried cherry/ginger scone recipe that is very similar to this one, and is my absolute favorite.

  3. This looks like an excellent recipe with the orange berries and cream! I bet its delicious!

  4. I live in the LA area, and we have Intelligentsia here – it’s amazing coffee!
    I also can’t wait to try the recipe. I usually make pancakes or waffles on weekend mornings, but this looks like a great recipe.

  5. purplefoodie

    Your scones look lovely. I made scones once and they were overpowered with the taste of baking powder. I didn’t attempt them after that. Looking at your scones, I feel like giving it another shot.

  6. Katherine: What About Summer?

    Sunday breakfast and brunch recipes are so great and these look picturesque. They are perfectly shaped!
    Katherine

  7. Pingback: Something Bold, Something Blue « The Fitness Foodie

Leave a Reply

