black raspberry swirl

Black Raspberry Swirl Ice Cream

I can’t get over how much I am enjoying this summer. Without the stress and constant worry about law school or studying for the Bar, I’m actually feel like I am enjoying myself.

Black Raspberry Swirl Ice Cream

And this ice cream is definitely helping. Robin recently mentioned that she is starting an ice cream business called Half Pint Kitchen and that the first recipe she was trying was the raspberry swirl ice cream from The Perfect Scoop. I couldn’t get this recipe out of my head. So when I bought a few pints of black raspberries at the market last weekend and I new that some of them were going to be worked into a batch of ice cream.

Black Raspberry Swirl Ice Cream

Magical ice cream. Seriously. This is probably the best batch of ice cream to come out of my machine. If you are looking for that last little push to by an ice cream maker of your own, this recipe should be it. Make up a batch before raspberry season is over.

Black Raspberry Swirl Ice Cream

Black Raspberry Swirl Ice Cream
Recipe adapted from The Perfect Scoop

Ice Cream:
1 cup whole milk
2/3 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
5 large egg yolks
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Raspberry Swirl:
1 1/2 cups raspberries; red or black, fresh or frozen
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon vodka
1 teaspoon kirsch (optional)

To make the ice cream, warm the milk, sugar, and salt in a medium saucepan. Pour the cream into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer over the top.

In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly pour the warm milk into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula. Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream. Add the vanilla and stir until cool over an ice bath. Chill thoroughly in the refrigerator, preferably overnight.

Raspberry Swirl: mash the raspberries together with the sugar and vodka (and kirsch if your have it) with a fork until they are juicy but with some nice chunks of berries remaining. If you are using frozen berries, let them thaw first. Chill until ready to use.

Freeze ice cream custard in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. As you remove it from the machine, layer it in the container with spoonfuls of the chilled raspberry swirl mixture. I like to use a loaf pan covered with some foil or plastic wrap in the freezer.

8 responses to “black raspberry swirl

  1. YOWZA! This is one of my favorite flavors! Though I’ve never had it homemade. I actually did buy an ice cream maker last summer and haven’t even used it yet. (Still in storage.) Can’t wait, though.

  2. oh man this looks amazing. now i REALLY want an ice cream maker.

  3. Gah! Thank you somuch for that plug!

    Isn’t that just the best ice cream flavor ever? :D

  4. I never wanted an ice cream maker before … until this post :-)

  5. this is right up my alley. yes, please!

    thanks for sharing!

    xo Alison

  6. That sounds so delicious! I have an old fashioned hand-cranked ice cream maker and it’s a lot of effort, but this definitely looks worth it. I’m looking for black raspberries pronto.

  7. This sounds awesome! Do you know of a good way to make ice cream without the benefit of an ice cream maker? I simply cannot fit one more appliance in my kitchen…which is a shame, because making ice cream sounds so great.

  8. Hi Whitney! I actually made this ice cream a few days ago and it is soo good. Will definitely be making it again before the summer comes to an end. I did use blackberries however since I couldn’t find fresh or frozen black raspberries. Still turned out great!

Leave a Reply

