mom’s potato salad

Mom's Potato Salad

I’ve always found it funny that our tastes change. As a kid, I wasn’t a picky-eater per se, but there were certain things I didn’t like. Sure, I grew up eating Vietnamese food on the southwest side of Houston and didn’t bat an eye at the wonderfully crunchy jellyfish salad at our spot Tay Do. Or those wood ear mushrooms in a bowl of hot and sour soup, but normal button mushrooms in beef stroganoff, no thanks. Or raw tomatoes. Or my Mom’s potato salad.

Potato Salad Mosaic

I’ve come around on mushrooms, tomatoes, but most importantly, on my Mom’s potato salad.

Mom's Potato Salad

My Mom’s potato salad is a pretty classic mayo-based style but I think the addition of lots of pickles and pickle jar “juice” really makes it special.

Mom’s Potato Salad
From my Mom’s recipe files, with guidance from Deb for proportions.

3 pounds red potatoes; skins on, boiled until fork tender, but not over done, cool
5-6 stalks celery; sliced lengthwise, then diced
1 bunch green onions; diced
3-4 dill pickles; chopped
1 small jar of pimentos; drained
2-3 hard-boiled eggs*, chopped
2/3 cup mayo
fresh cracked pepper

Dice potatoes into mouth sized chunks and transfer to a large bowl. Stir in the celery, pimentos, pickles, green onions and eggs. Add the mayo and stir into everything is well coated. Add pickle jar juice to tasty. Top with lots of cracked black pepper to taste.

5 responses to “mom’s potato salad

  1. You know-I’ve never really made potato salad myself, but absolutely love ALL versions of it. This one looks really good to me because I love the addition of pickles and pimentos. That little bit of acidity adds so much to the dish.

  2. oh i loooove a good, classic potato salad. celery, eggs, and pickle are definitely key. your mom’s looks pretty much perfect!

  3. seriously to die for!!! WOW, and i just checked ur sunday scones which looked SO SCRUMPTIOUS!

  4. It’s funny – there are thousands of potato salad recipes out there, and i always seems to like my mom’s the best , too. simple and easy :)

  5. My mom never made potato salad, so when I started making them myself I always chose an oil & vinegar based dressing. I think it’s time to make this classic. It looks great and homey.

Leave a Reply

