everyday granola

Molly's Everyday Granola

I know what you are thinking. “Whitney, we have heard about granola, countless times. Another recipe, seriously?” Yes, you need this recipe too.

Molly's Everyday Granola

And I shouldn’t be surprised that Molly has created, what I think is the perfect granola recipe. I will admit that those other recipes were good (especially the Maple Pecan albeit, it is a fussier recipe), but I always felt like something was missing.  None of my previous granola batches were habit-inducing. None of the above recipes could get to me to stop buying the $5.99 bags of Vegan Papaya Wonderfulness. But this recipe is saving my wallet.

Molly's Everyday Granola

Molly warns that it is important to let the granola get good and brown. I took the full 40 minutes, but watch your granola so that you don’t actually burn your granola.

*The bowl in this picture was purchased during my amazing weekend in Door County at TR Pottery.  If you ever find yourself in Fish Creek, please stop in.

Last year at this time:  Day 1 and Day 2 of the Illinois Bar.  I can’t believe it has been a year.

Molly’s (and now MY) Everyday Granola
Recipe (barely) adapted from Bon Appetit

3 cups old-fashioned oats
1 cup coarsely chopped pecans
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
3 tablespoons (packed) brown sugar
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (or ginger powder)
1/4 teaspoon (generous) salt
1/3 cup honey {use agave if you are a vegan that avoids honey}
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 cup assorted dried fruit (I used dried blueberries and cherries)

Preheat oven to 300°F. Line rimmed baking sheet with parchment or a Slipat. Mix first 7 ingredients in large bowl. Stir honey and oil in saucepan over medium-low heat until smooth. Pour honey mixture over oat mixture; toss. Spread on prepared sheet. Bake until golden, stirring every 10 minutes, about 40 minutes. Make sure it gets quite brown. You don’t want to under toast your granola. That would be sad. Place sheet on rack. Stir granola; cool. Mix in fruit. Store in an airtight container for a week or so (I just had some that is probably 2 weeks old and it tasted fine to me!)

Enjoy with greek yogurt and a dab of jam (in the winter) or some fresh fruit (in the summer).

4 responses to “everyday granola

  1. looks great! i recently made chai granola, and it’s definitely addictive. i make a huge batch and we still run out every couple of weeks!

  2. mmm…I love homemade granola. I haven’t made any in awhile, but I always love a new Molly W. recommendation!

  3. the only other granola recipe i have ever tried i got from you, and now there is another to add to it! delicious!

  4. Pingback: Crunchy honey-vanilla granola « All dressed in black

Leave a Reply

