pineapple ginger agua frescas

Pineapple Ginger Aqua Fresca

Chicago is hot this summer. I don’t know if it is because I have now lived in the midwest for 4 years (4! Years!) and haven’t experienced a months worth of 100+ temps, or just that I am out enjoying summer more this time around with marathon training, weekly beach volleyball games, and traveling by bike wherever possible but…Chicago is hot this summer.

Pineapple Ginger Aqua Fresca

But the best thing about hot summers, are cold refreshing drinks. Sure, I got into iced coffee last year but this year it is all about the agua frescas. A few weeks ago it was watermelon lemonade (seriously, you must try this NOW) and now it is pineapple ginger aqua frescas. I saw this recipe in Bon Appetit and the next day pineapples were on sale at my local grocery store for $1. I made a batch last monday for a few friends to celebrate NOT taking the Bar this time around.

Rock-n-Roll Chicago Half Marathon

I also ran my 2nd Half-Marathon on Sunday and could have used a big glass of this at the end. Cold. Refreshing. Quick Glucose. Delicious.

Pineapple Ginger Agua Frescas
Recipe adapted from Bon Appetit: July 2010

5 cups of 1-inch cubes peeled ripe pineapple (from 1 large pineapple)
4 cups water, divided
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons (or more) grated peeled fresh ginger
Ice cubes
Optional: vodka, gin or sparkling wine for a boozy option; I really enjoyed mine with a little Tanqueray.

Puree pineapple, 1 cup water, and sugar in blender in batches until smooth. Pour into 8-cup measuring cup or pitcher. Mix in 3 cups  cold water and 2 teaspoons ginger. Cover; chill until cold, about 4 hours. (I only gave it around 2 hours and it was fine.) Strain pineapple mixture into pitcher, pressing on solids in strainer. My fine mesh strainer is a little too fine for this so use something bigger if you have it.  Add more ginger to taste. Fill tall glasses with ice (and booze if you are like that, and I’m like that). Pour pineapple-ginger aqua fresca over the ice.  Cheers!

7 responses to “pineapple ginger agua frescas

  1. oneordinaryday

    Utter perfection. I love aguas frescas and make a couple versions, but pineapple and ginger sounds awesome. I’ll be sipping this one asap.

  2. that looks so tasty! i was just saying the other day that i needed to get into the summer drinks a bit more!

  3. Woo hoo for the Rock ‘n’ Roll! Nice job! It was pretty hot out there. Come back to the race next year!

  4. CONGRATS Whitney! That drink looks so refreshing. I love anything with pineapple

  5. Kudos to whoever will run a half-marathon in these temps! Glasses of this at the finish line would be sweet! I saw you are registered for HLS next week. I was on stand-by and finally got my “in” notice. Yeah!

  6. Love this! We’ve been doing agua frescas a lot in our house too – I’ve been a midwesterner my whole life, and the heat this summer is getting to me, too! And congrats on your finish in the RnR Half Mary! One step closer to 10.10.10!

  7. I tried a little twist on this. Since it’s winter and I have a little head cold, I wanted a hot drink with Vitamin C and I’m out of lemons for my usual honey lemon tea. So I made this hot with 1 1/2 Tbsp honey instead of sugar. It’s awesome! It tastes like a pineapple wassail!

Leave a Reply

