blueberry cream tarts

Blueberry Tarts

Even though it is in the mid 90s this week and I am dreading my 14 mile (PDR!) long run tomorrow, it feels like summer is slipping away. The annual Air and Water Show is this weekend and I can remember needing a long sleeve t-shirt to enjoy it on the lakefront in years past. This is also the weekend of the Healthy Living Summit which I am going to try to attend as much as possible after getting up at 6AM to run tomorrow. Even though I don’t write my blog as a “healthy living” style blog, I still enjoy keeping up with many of the bloggers in this community, especially to keep me motivated as I get into the hard last 8 weeks of my Chicago Marathon Training.

Blueberry Tart Mosaic

It has been fun to see the excitement of everyone as they slowly make their way to Chicago. It reminds me about when I came during college and feel in love with this city and just knew that I had to move here. The amazing architecture. Public Transportation. The Lake.  The Food.  Everything.

Blueberry Tarts

And to help soak up every last bit on summer, I made these blueberry cream tarts to use up some of a 5 pound box of blueberries from Mick Klug farms. They involve a few steps, but the result looks much more complicated than they really are. Perfect to bring as a dessert to a late-summer BBQ or street fest!

Blueberry Tarts

Blueberry & Cream Tarts
Recipe adapted from Sprouted Kitchen

1 8-oz. Sheet Frozen Puff Pastry, thawed
1 Egg, beaten
6 oz. Cream Cheese, room temperature
3 Tbsp. Honey, divided
3 Tbsp. Fresh Lemon Juice, divided
Zest of one Large Lemon
1 Cup Fresh Blueberries

Pre-heat oven to 375′

Unfold the the puff pastry and roll over it with a rolling pin about three times to thin it out a bit. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a Slipat. Using a 2 inch round cookie cutter or top of a mason jar, gently cut out circles and put them on the parchment.

Using a paring or small knife, score a 1/4” thick circle border inside each tart cut out. Brush the outer edge with the beaten egg and sprinkle each with a bit of sugar, I used sparkling sugar but normal granulated would work. Bake on middle rack until golden and puffed, about 14 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix the cream cheese, lemon zest, 2 Tbsp. of the lemon juice, and 2 tbsp. honey until fully mixed and a bit fluffy. Put it in the fridge.

Remove the tarts, rescore the circle and press down gently on the middle part to flatten. Allow them to cool about 5 minutes.

Dollop about 1 Tbsp. of the creamy mixture in the middle of each tart. Put the blueberries in a bowl. Warm the remaining 1 Tbsp. honey in the microwave for 15 seconds to loosen it, pour over the berries along with the last 1 Tbsp. of lemon juice and toss to coat. Pile a pretty spoonful of berries on top of the creamy mixture. Serve at room temperature.

6 responses to “blueberry cream tarts

  1. local blueberries are incredible. we spent a week in maine last month and it was like i’d never eaten a blueberry before! love your dessert — another great dessert idea for puff pastry.

    cheers,

    *heather*

  2. Good luck on your run tomorrow—if you’ve been putting in your miles, I’m sure you’ll rock the new distance.

    And I love the Chicago pride; makes me wish I could come home more often. Especially after hearing so many great things about Lolla last weekend!

  3. Delicious! What a simple and fabulous way to show off the best blueberries…look at how glossy and mouth-watering they are! And we heart Chicago…born and raised hometown girls…just wish we got back there more during the summer and less during the winter!

  4. These look absolutely incredible. I think I say that about everything you make, but these are making my mouth water. They look refreshing yet indulgent at the same time. I want one! I wish I could have gone to the summit this year, but hopefully there will be one next year!

  5. It was great meeting you, too! And thanks so much for your spot at yoga…it was great but SUPER hard. I was shaking by the end and I hadn’t run 14 miles that morning like you. :)

    By the way, your photos are lovely!

  6. Woah! These look delicious! They’d be perfect party fare to pass around.

Leave a Reply

