chocolate chip cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

September 6th. Labor Day 2010. It is hard to believe that it is already here and that summer is slowly slipping away. Surprisingly, I’m not sad to see this summer go because I feel like I made the absolute most of it. Marathon training has tanned and toned my legs (and given me pretty awesome and random sports bra/racer back tan lines on my back) and got me out on the lakefront path for many, many hours. There have been plenty patio sushi eating with my girlfriends and bike rides instead of the bus. Chicago just blossoms so much in the summer that it is hard to not pack your weeks and weekends so full that come September, you look forward to chilly days with crunchy leaves at your feet. Summer is wonderful, but really, so is Fall.

So to celebrate the end of a great summer, I baked some cookies. Specifically David Lebovitz‘s Chocolate Chip Cookies in his latest book Ready for Dessert. I didn’t own any of his previous, now out of print, dessert books so I was excited when he came out with a new compilation of his favorite recipes. These cookies are made in log form so it is really easy to keep a couple in the freezer to just slice off 5 or 6 to have on a whim. Perfect for a chilly fall night if you ask me.

David’s Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe adapted from Ready for Dessert

David takes the advice of the viral NY Times chocolate chip cookie recipe and lets the dough rest for at least 24 hours in the fridge. I took this advice also, and was glad for it. The dough can also be frozen for a month or so which makes for easy, slice and bake off just a couple at a time.

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup packed light brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 cups nuts; I used almonds and walnuts but pecans and macadamia would also be lovely
8-14 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate; I went with less chocolate because I was using high quality bittersweet bars

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a stand mixer, with the paddle attachment, cream the butter, both sugars and the vanilla until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time until they are each incorporated. Stir in the flour mixture then add the chocolate and nuts.

On a lightly floured work surface, divide the dough into quarters. Shape each quarter into a log about 9 inches long. Wrap the logs in plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm, but its best for at least 24 hours.

Preheat oven to 350F. Line your baking sheets with parchment or a Silpat. Slice the logs into disks 3/4 inch thick and place the disks 3 inches apart. Push any chocolate chunks or nuts that come out back into the disk. Bake for about 10 mins, rotating the sheets if you are doing more than one after 5 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack.

4 responses to “chocolate chip cookies

  1. oh, how i love chocolate chip cookies. you should try these though – they are my favorites so far!

  2. I love chocolate chip cookies! Those look delicious!

  3. David Lebovitz is ridiculous. His banana bread is my absolute go to and it.never.fails.

    These look great – you can’t really go wrong with chocolate chip cookies now can you? Did you see that article (a whiiiile ago) in the NYT about the perfect chocolate chip cookie? It’s good stuff.

  4. That’s a good idea to keep some of the dough frozen and slicing off/cooking only what you want. I don’t bake that often, but it’s mainly because I don’t want 3 dozen cookies sitting around my house with only 2 people to eat them. And my coworkers are ok, I guess, but I don’t feel the need to feed them all the time. :)

Leave a Reply

