apples everywhere

Apples

October is a rather lovely month. Crunchy leaves. Pumpkins. TCU Football. Engagement Pictures. MLB Postseason. APPLES.

Apples

And I can’t think of a better thing to make with a bunch of apples than apple crisp. I made this crisp quickly on a Thursday night to bring to the inaugural meeting of my newly formed book club. We decided to start a book club this summer after our beach volleyball season ended. Since we are all finally done with higher academic pursuits, it is refreshing to approach a book from a more literay perspective. We started with “Half Broke Horses” by Jeannette Walls which we all mostly enjoyed and will be moving onto Little Bee by Chris Cleave next.

Apples

But you are here to hear about the Apple Crisp. Crisps are such an easy way to use up whatever fruit is in season. Raspberries and Peaches. Rhubarb. And now apples. I went ahead and just googled for an idea of how to make a crisp vegan, since my best friend, bridesmaid, marathon running buddy and our book club host for the month happens to be vegan and I have to say, I didn’t miss the butter in the crisp topping whatsoever.

Apple Crisp

Apple Crisp (Vegan)
Recipe helped through some googling, but mainly, my own creation
*mini pie plate from TR Pottery*

For the apples filling:
6-8 Apples, cored, peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch slices (I used Spy because I like firm and tart apples)
1 tablespoon corn starch
Juice from 1/2 a lemon
1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon all spice
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 cup real maple syrup (please use the real stuff)

For the crisp topping;
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
2 tablespoons canola oil
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla
Sliced almonds (optional)

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a square baker (I think mine is 8 inches?) with some cooking spray. In a large bowl, squeeze the lemon half over the sliced apples. Add the cornstarch and spices to the apple slices and stir to make sure the slices are evenly coated. Drizzle the maples syrup over apples and pour the apples into the baking dish, scraping down the bowl with a spatula to make sure none of the maple-spiced goodness is left behind.

In the same dirty bowl (why dirty another bowl) mix all the topping ingredients until well combined. Pour the topping onto of the apples, sprinkle with some sliced almonds, if using, and cover with some aluminum foil. Bake for 30 minutes. After 30 mins, fork an apple to see if they are tender. If so, uncover and allow for the topping to brown for 5-10 minutes.

Serve with vanilla ice cream and maybe a little caramel sauce (which I will blog about soon.)

6 responses to “apples everywhere

  1. This looks wonderful! I will definitely try the recipe because even though I am not vegan, I have a few people in my life who are, and I enjoy surprising them with treats. Plus, vegan or not, it looks really good. Thanks!

  2. hi just came across ur recipe and thought “this is perfect” as i had loadsa apples in my fridge and didn’t want to make apple pie as usual and voila ur blog had the perfect solution and the picture is soooo inviting i just had to take a peak. i love that i have all the ingredients and since its nearing Diwali in India on the 5th of Nov., well this is simply wonderful. thanku and i hope to post back a picture to u on how it turned out for me. cheers:)

  3. LOVE apple crisps more than any other crisp :). too bad my peck of apples is almost gone!!

  4. Hi there. I like your blog and love your copyright page. It’s very serious, but there’s humor there too (I’m a lawyer; I get it).

  5. hi! i just stumbled upon your sweet little blog and couldn’t help but hit the follow button!! i look forward to following your adventures in the months to come! xo, kate

  6. I found this recipe on tastespotting and made it last night with peaches – lovely!

Leave a Reply

