fall everything quick bread

Fall Quick Bread

How often when you are reading a blog during a break at work or thumbing through a Food and Wine during your morning commute, do you see a recipe and wish that you could go home to your kitchen and make whatever it is right now?

Fall Quick Bread

If only I didn’t have responsibilities like work and class and running and life that consistently get in my way of my kitchen adventures.

Fall Quick Bread

However, last Sunday, I was home, making a lasagna for dinner and making my way through my google reader when I stumbled on this post from Joy. Realizing that I had a bag full of cranberries from the market, purchased with no real purpose in mind, plus everything else I needed, except the pumpkin.

Fall Quick Bread

After a quick plea to Dave to run to the store to grab the necessary can (we live conveniently next to a full sized grocery store), a little measuring, and a few stirs in the bowl, the loaves of this fall everything quick bread were in the oven.

Fall Quick Bread

Now, this may be a little blasphemous to admit, but, I don’t go gaga over pumpkin-flavored things this time of year. I don’t run to Starbucks to get a Pumpkin Spiced Latte the moment they hit the store (truthfully, I’ve never had one) and I didn’t seek out cans of the Libby brand pumpkin to stock up a few months ago because of the shortage. However, something about adding cranberries, apples, and pecans to this pumpkin bread just really sounded awesome. And the recipe was vegan to boot!

Fall Quick Bread

I made a normal sized loaf as well as two smaller loaves to share with friends. I brought the end of the big loaf to work this week and it was gone from the kitchen in less than 30 minutes. Really great, moist, not too sweet, fall-flavored quick bread.

Fall Quick Bread

Fall Everything Bread
Recipe adapted from Joy the Baker

  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (or any combo of all-purpose, spelt, white-wheat or whole wheat; Joy called for 2 AP/1.5 whole wheat and I would have used a combo but alas, all I had around was all-purpose)
  • 2 cups light (or dark) brown sugar, packed; whichever you have around, I used dark
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves (I used a little more allspice because I didn’t have any cloves)
  • 1 15-ounce can pumpkin puree, or just under two cups
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 cup chopped pecans plus 8 pecan halves
  • 1 heaping cup fresh cranberries
  • 1 medium apple, peeled and cored and cut into small pieces (I used a Spy, Joy suggests Granny Smith; I say anything but a grody Red Delicious)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place a rack in the center of the oven. Grease and flour two loaf pans (or a combo of mini pans) and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together flours, sugars, baking soda, baking powder, salt and spices.

In a medium bowl, carefully whisk together pumpkin puree, oil, maple syrup and water.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and use a spatula to fold all of the ingredients together. Be careful to both not over mix the flour but still make sure that all the flour is incorporated. Fold in the chopped pecans, cranberries and apple chunks.

Divide the dough between the two greased pans and arrange pecan halves on top of each loaf. Sprinkle loaf with cinnamon and granulated sugar if you’d like. I used some of my Old Town Spiced Sugar Blend. Bake mini pans for 30-40 mins and full sized pans 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven. Let rest in the pans for 20 minutes, then invert onto a cooling rack.

Cool completely before slicing. It may be a little crumbly since there is no egg in the recipe to bind up the gluten. Will keep well if wrapped in the freezer if you don’t want to share with friends or co-workers.

11 responses to “fall everything quick bread

  1. Oooooh, that does sound delicious! Is it adapted from Dorie’s everything cake? I wonder. I have the Old Town mix in my cabinet as we speak as well as the pumpkin…..

  2. Love this! Might make some, gluten-free this morning, as I have everything on hand, too! And I’m glad you agree that Red Delicious are disgusting. So mealy. ;)

  3. This sounds delicious! Perfect for a gloomy, drizzly November day.

  4. I made this last night and it is FANTASTIC. Excellent mix of flavors and textures. I had never worked with fresh cranberries but will definitely do so again. I was out of cloves and don’t have allspice, so I substituted pumpkin pie spice. Thanks for sharing!

  5. this bread was delicious! thanks so much for the recipe! i also substituted pumpkin pie spice and it turned out yummy :)

  6. hi whitney! i just stumbled upon your adorable little blog and couldn’t help but bookmark and follow you! i so look forward to following your adventures in the months to come! happy thanksgiving! xo, kate

  7. Kate-Thanks for stopping by!

    Mara-I bet pumpkin pie spice is a great substitution.

    Elginista-So glad you liked it.

    Jenn-Love to see the GF version on your blog :)

    Jules-Never made Dorie’s everything cake but I will add it to my list.

  8. i made a very similar bread for thanksgiving snack and it’s definitely a favorite, repeated every thanksgiving kinda bread. i don’t use apples in mine though but LOVE that cranberries and pumpkin are present ;).

  9. Oh my goodness! This looks SO good. Did you take these pictures?

  10. Whitney (in North Carolina)

    I just made this recipe with a few substitutes: I used canned sweet potatoes (no pumpkin), and used honey when I ran out of maple syrup. The bread turned out moist, dense (in the best way possible), with enough sweetness and natural goodness that I couldn’t resist several slices. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! I look forward to checking back for more great eats.

  11. Pingback: Fairly healthy quick bread recipe - perfect for autumn!

Leave a Reply

