smoky red devil eggs

Deviled Eggs

I’ve never really been a picky eater per se, but there have been things I thought I hated. Take mustard as an example, I never understood why someone would ruin a perfectly good sandwich or hamburger with a big smear of mustard. It would be the only flavor I could taste. Up until a faithful day with my (now) fiance, a pretzel, some spicy mustard and Wrigley Field, I still hated mustard. Now, I appreciate a mustardy vinaigrette over some greens, or some spicy mustard for my McDs hashbrown (don’t hate).

eggs mosaic

I used to hate deviled eggs. See, I used to have an aversion to hard boiled eggs. I didn’t understand why you would take a perfectly good egg, that could be cooked sunny-side up, just ready to be poked with a piece of toast and boil it to the point where it would smell, well, eggy and be all crumbly and just gross. Then you wanted me to have a deviled egg which takes the yolks of the hard boiled egg and mixes them with the aforementioned mustard. No thanks.

assembly mosaic

Thankfully, all that has changed. Now don’t mind hard boiled eggs or mustard. Although the recipe that I’m sharing, doesn’t actually use any of the aforementioned mustard in the mix, I choose the recipe because its from a quite reliable source, Melissa Clark. I’m late to her NYT’s column, “A Good Appetite” but I love digging through the archives and especially love thumbing through her book!

Deviled Eggs

Smoky Red Devil Eggs
Recipe adapted from Melissa Clark for the New York Times”

12 large eggs [and if you are lucky, good ones from the farmers’ market]
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup mayonnaise
2 tablespoons tomato paste
2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon hot smoked paprika, more for garnish

1. Place eggs in a medium saucepan and cover with cold water. Bring water to a full boil, let cook for 1 minute, then turn off heat and cover pan. Allow eggs to stand for at least 15 minutes.

2. Once eggs are cool enough to handle, peel and cut in half lengthwise. Scoop yolks into a bowl; place whites on a serving platter.

3. Using a sharp knife or mortar and pestle, chop or smash garlic with salt to make a paste. Add paste to yolks and mash together with a fork. Add mayonnaise, tomato paste, red wine vinegar, pepper and paprika and continue to mash until mixture is smooth. Taste and add more vinegar, salt and paprika if desired.

4. Spoon yolk mixture into whites and dust with paprika.

5 responses to “smoky red devil eggs

  1. I hear ya on the eggs–I really don’t like egg yolk unless it’s runny or disguised by something else. These look so pretty!

  2. Even I liked them!!!! I was astonished.

  3. um, that looks really, really tasty! don’t mind if i try the recipe myself ;)

  4. oh those look great!

  5. These look really interesting. I’m not a fan of egg yolks (odd I know) but – maybe these will change my mind.

Leave a Reply

