A wonderful use for Summer Corn…Pancakes

Ear of Corn

Well…I haven’t fully found the time to really get this blog started but since I enjoy other blogs so much, I will try to make a better effort.  I have really been enjoying all of the amazing finds at the Green City Market, in particular…Corn.  I can’t go to the market without buying the 5 ears for $2 from Nichols Farm. Dave and I have been eating them off the cobb and I have made Kristen’s Corn Chowder to freeze for quick dinners more than a few times. One Saturday morning at Green City, the Chef (sadly the recipe doesn’t say who or which restaurant this came from) were sampling Corn Pancakes. The are kinda a mix between sweet cornbread and a thin pancake/crepe. Really great for a weekend morning. They are even good leftover and just nuked a bit to warm them back up. I hope you enjoy.

Fresh Corn Pancakes (makes 16-4in. cakes)-from Green City Market’s Cooking Demonstration.

Kernels cut from 1 ear of corn (approx. 1 cup)
2 Cups of Buttermilk
2 Large eggs
6 Tablespoons unsalted butter-melted
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
2 Teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
Honey for serving (I don’t like Honey but Dave enjoyed this).

In a small box, whisk together the buttermilk, eggs and butter. In a larger bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking soda and salt to blend. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until just combined (there will still be lumps). Gently fold in the corn kernels.

Spray a skillet with cooking spray (I tried to melt some butter but the cooking spray really works better for this) and heat it over medium heat. Pour 1/4 cup of batter on the griddle and let its spread in a circle. When the bubbles break on the top, flip the pancake. This should take 1-3 mins. (I had trouble flipping a few and I realized I was flipping just a tad too early-make sure there are a decent amount of popped bubbles on the top). You can stick a cookie sheet in the oven on warm to keep the pancakes warm while you finish cooking the rest. Serve with the honey, or a little butter, or just plain. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

