Pumpkins: So Cute and So Many Uses


Growing up, I used to love go to a pumpkin patch (really just a parking lot of one of the many churches in The Woodlands) and pick out the perfect pumpkin.  Then a few days before Halloween, I would carve it with my Mom and inevitably I would break one of the little pumpkin kit knives.  Then we would roast up the seeds to crunch for the next few days.  However, I can’t remember the last time that I carved a pumpkin but I have been tempted to buy one from Green City every time that I have been in the last few weeks.  After reading Kristin’s post about pumpkin puree and that TWD this week is pumpkin muffins, I finally had an excuse to buy a cute little pie pumpkin.  Don’t worry, I have bought myself, and my boss Melissa, little pumpkins to have at our desk at work.

It really is amazing to really use a pumpkin for more than just a carving surface.   I have already added the puree into muffins, the seeds have been roasted, and I have 3 more cups of puree in the freezer for future use.  It took some time, and made a mess our of the kitchen, but it was a fun project for a Saturday (and much better than starting my Bankruptcy outline or working on a Secured Transactions Problem).

Halved and Ready for the Oven

Halved and Ready for the Oven

All you have to do is cut the pumpkin in half, pop off the stem, scrap out the seeds and goo (yes-goo is a technical term), save the seeds!, then place the halves on a parchment lined baking sheet in the oven for about an hour at 400.

Roasted and Ready

Roasted and Ready

Once the pumpkin gives to the touch, let it cool until you can handle it. Then scoop out the flesh from the skin.

Pumpkin Leftovers

Pumpkin Leftovers

Throw away the leftovers and puree the flesh in batches. I added a little water to help the Cuisinart out. Then drain it overnight through a cheese cloth (I used a paper towel, but bought a cheese cloth today at Dominicks).

Puree

Puree

Then freeze the leftovers in 1 cup portions for future receipes.

Ready for the freezer

Ready for the freezer

Leave a Reply

