pistachio sandies

Pistachio Sandies

Christmas is a mere 4 days away. (Seriously, how did that happen?) Even though I started listening to the Classical Christmas pandora station soon after Thanksgiving, the fact that it is already December 21st snuck up on me.   I’m sure there are some of you that are totally cookie-d out.  However, I hope that you have a little more room in your holiday baking schedule. 

Pistachio Sandies

 Last Saturday, we hosted a holiday party, which was basically a good excuse to bake a bunch of different cookies, make my first batch of real egg nog, and have our friends over for holiday merriment. I had plans to make 6 different varieties of cookies but had to settle for 4. I was a tad ambituous to think I could make so many batches after running 11 very cold miles with only one oven and one KitchenAid mixing bowl.

Pistachio Sandies

However, I was smart and made a double batch of these pistachio sandies the night before. I have always enjoyed these little dense, nut-based, powdered-sugar-dusted cookies on various mixed holiday plates but for whatever reason, never made them myself.

Pistachio Sandies

When I saw Jen’s post about making them with pistachios a few days ago, I immediately put them on the top of my must bake cookie list. You see, I also love a good cookie or brownie with nuts. Adding a handful of almonds to a batch is always good in my book. But pistachios? My fav. The mix of the pistachios with the almond extract reminded me immediately of my favorite childhood flavor of ice cream from Baskin Robbins, Pistachio Almond.  Make up a double (or triple!) batch of these little beauties and share with your friends.

This time last year: Oatmeal Cookies for Santa
Two years ago (More pistachios!): Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Pistachio Sandies
Recipe adapted from Use Real Butter (via Cannelle et Vanille)

Ingredients:
1 cup of pistachios (already shelled, dry roasted and unsalted)
8 ounces of butter
2 1/4 cups of All-Purpose Flour
1/3 cup of powered sugar
1 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon of water
1 additional cup of powdered sugar for rolling/dusting cookies after baking

Preheat oven to 325F. Pulse the pistachios in a food processor until they are in a coarse meal. Beat the butter in a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment until fluffy, about 30 seconds. Add half the flour and all the powered sugar, extracts and water and stir until just combined. Add the rest of the flour and stir until just combined. Add the nuts. Pinch of the dough with your hands, or a cookie scoop (I found my hand to be easier) and roll the dough into 1 inch balls. Place dough balls on a Slipat or parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Don’t have to space them much because they don’t spread. Bake 20-25 mins, or until the bottoms are beginning to brown. Allow to cool, the roll in powdered sugar.

Makes 3 dozen cookies.

Leave a Reply

