Chocolate espresso snowcaps

These are good. Really good.

img_10951

I was a little skeptical with using the only brand of instant espresso that I could find at Domincks and mixing it with a really good chocolate bar but it really made for a dense, rich but yet not heavy cookie.

img_2173

img_2180

I received a new cookie scoop from Dave’s sister for Christmas (Thanks Bets!) which made a bigger cookie, so I didn’t get as many as the recipe promised but they were still just as good.

img_21841

They are also fun to make. After scooping up the dough, you roll the balls in fluffy white powdered sugar.

img_1086

I then placed them on a cookie sheet with my new Slipat (Thanks Mom!). Make sure to give them space because they really do spread a decent amount.

img_1088

Kristin is right. These really are magical. They go into the oven fully white and then they come out like this…
img_10911

Try them…you won’t be disappointed.

Chocolate Espresso Snowcaps
From Martha Stewart via The Kitchen Sink

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
4 teaspoons instant espresso
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
2/3 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 large egg
4 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, melted and cooled
1 tablespoon milk
1/2 cup confectioners sugar, for coating

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, espresso, baking powder, and salt. With an electric mixer, beat butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg until well combined; mix in cooled chocolate. With mixer on low speed, gradually add dry ingredients; beat in milk just until combined. Shape dough into balls using a cookie scoop. Place on a parchment lined cookie sheet and freeze for about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Place confectioners’ sugar into a medium bowl; working in batches, roll balls in sugar twice.

Place balls on prepared baking sheets, 2 inches apart. Bake, rotating sheets halfway through, until cookies have spread and coating is cracked, 12 to 14 minutes; cookies will still be soft to the touch. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.**

**I just baked them one sheet at a time since I only have one Slipat and having the oven on helps to warm the apartment!

3 responses to “Chocolate espresso snowcaps

  1. Beautiful! Oh, I’m dying to try these now!

    Thanks so much for the advice about my foot injury…I hope yours is feeling better now too! I’m getting there…slowly but surely. 🙂

  2. Pingback: a snow day | Whitney in Chicago

  3. Thanks for posting this, My DH is a huge snow cap candy fan an I think this cookie will be perfect for him.

Leave a comment