Granola w/ Almonds, Pistachios and Cranberries

After reading a bunch of food policy-esque books lately, I have been reevaluating some of my food purchases and finding simple changes that have infinite benefits.  Simple things like looking at the italian dressing packet that I always used and swapping it for a mix with far fewer (and pronounceable) ingredients from the Spice House. It is satisfying to know that the loaf of bread that just gets pulled out of the oven, only has a handful of ingredients in it. After buying a whole lot of dried milk for my light wheat bread, I was excited to see that another use for all the surplus is granola. This recipe is entirely flexible and the results are wonderful. I have a big gallon sized bag that I am slowly eating down and enjoying it every step of the way.

I decided to use my favorite nuts (almonds and pistachios) and big, plump dried cranberries that I really fell in love with during this past holiday season.

It comes together quite quickly. You put all the dry ingredients (nuts, oats, powdered milk, coconut, salt) in a huge bowl (in my case 2 large bowls) and give them a quick stir. Then you mix together all the wet ingredients (oil, honey, vanilla) in a measuring cup and slowly add the liquid to the dry stirring it all in as you go.

Once everything is mixed, you dump it all out onto a half sheet pan (I did it in two batches) and place it in a preheated 300 degree oven. Take it out every 5-7 mins and stir it around so that it cooks evenly.

The granola is done when the oats start to brown and it feels hot to the touch (took me around 20 mins). It is fanatasic on its own, eaten like cereal with cold milk, or, my personal favorite, mixed with some tangy plain greek yogurt.

I have been giving little baggies full to friends and enjoying it for breakfast all week. I will probably stick some in the freezer to see how it holds up. The recipe makes a TON so it might be smart to half it (or just have lots of ziploc handy.)

Granola
Recipe adapted from Homesick Texan

10 cups rolled oats (this is just your normal Quaker Oatmeal)
1 cup dried milk
4-6 cups nuts (I used 2 cups of pistachios and 2 cups of almonds and I think it is plenty)
5 cups dried, unsweetened coconut flakes (I usually HATE dried coconut, but these flakes are PERFECT in this recipe)
2-3 tsp. salt (I used 3 and it is almost a little salty)
1 to 1.5 cups vegetable oil
1 cup honey
3 tsp. vanilla
2-3 cups dried cranberries (add after baking)
Heat oven to 300 degrees.

Combine dry ingredients in a BIG bowl and mix thoroughly. In a large measuring cup, measure the oil and then add the honey and vanilla too it. Mix thoroughly with a whisk.

Put the mixture on a silpat lined (if you have one) pan 1-3 inches thick and bake. Use a spatula to turn it every five minutes or so. It is best to take it out before it seems done. When it feels hot to the touch and is a light golden brown, it’s ready. Mix in the dried cranberries.

21 responses to “Granola w/ Almonds, Pistachios and Cranberries

  1. Yum! I was planning on making granola this week too, for myself and to send to some friends for b-day presents. Thanks for the recipe, this looks great! 🙂

    Also, thanks for the feedback on my new format. I’m enjoying it a lot more, although I do sometimes miss the food diary posts. I still find myself taking pictures of all my meals…some habits are hard to break. 🙂

  2. Man that’s a good looking granola! Love the pistachio addition… my favorite nut. I’m gonna have to make a bread with pistachios.

  3. pinkstripes

    I love homemade granola. I’ve never made it with powdered milk. It looks delicious.

  4. I am totally getting into reading labels, myself! I started buying bread from a local bakery because they don’t use preservatives and grind their own what and other cool stuff. I made my first granola bars a few weeks ago and want to make some granola soon, too! Yours looks really yummy! 🙂

  5. That is a whole lotta granola! Looks yummy!

  6. Hi Whitney – Can I ask where you got that flaked coconut? It looks amazing!

  7. I bought it at Treasure Island, my neighborhood grocery store in Chicago. Any place that has Bob’s Red Mill products may have it or you can order it online. It really was some great coconut. It toasted up real well.

    Hope that helps!

  8. I got your granola in the mail today! It is SO GOOD!!! Thank you! 🙂

  9. Andrea-I’m very glad that you like it!

  10. Your granola looks wonderful!!! I just made some granola too! SOO good. I love making it myself.

  11. Thanks Courtney! I am excited to give it another try with different nuts (and maybe a little cinnamon).

  12. Pingback: a distant memory « bella eats

  13. Pingback: One of those weeks « Whitney in Chicago

  14. Pingback: [First] Green at Green City « Whitney in Chicago

  15. Hi Whitney!
    I made this granola on Friday and had Mark’s family in town for the weekend and they loved it. I used walnuts and almonds and it was really good! I definitely will make it again!

  16. Chris! I am glad that you liked the granola and I hope the little one is doing well, he is such a cutie 🙂

  17. Yum! I love a good homemade granola. Just this last weekend, I made a version that was very similar to this, originally from 101 cookbooks, found via The Kitchen Sink. It was (and still is) awesome.

  18. This sounds SO GOOD!
    I’ve been making my own granola since a friend gave me a batch of homemade G for Christmas 2007! I’ve recently begun using coconut oil for cooking these days (olive oil for cold use – salads, etc) & have some recipes over at the ‘Vale.’

    I use a quart of rolled oats at a time, plus the flaked coconut, a drizzle or two of agave nectar (or honey, or some of each) a sprinkle of cinnamon & cap (1/4 tsp?) vanilla, & spoon several Tbsp of coconut oil over.
    I added 1/4 C of coconut flour to the last batch – (after reading Nina Planck’s ‘Real Food,’ I’d stay away from powdered milk [just found a source of local raw milk from pastured cows – YUM!!])

    I’m in Oregon, so hazelnut country – crack 8-10 nuts & chop them, & add some sunflower & flax seeds. I use a deep dish, bake at 250* for 10 min, stir (the coconut oil is melted by then) & bake 10 or 15 more. I let it cool in the oven, & store in a glass jar when it’s cool. If I want it crisper, I turn the oven on again for ~ 15 minutes.

    I love cran raisins, too, but don’t add any fruit to the mix, as I prefer them softer. I grate or chop 1/2 an apple over, or use some frozen blueberries (soon fresh berries, soon!)

  19. Pingback: sweet strawberries « Whitney in Chicago

  20. Pingback: weekday mornings « Whitney in Chicago

  21. Pingback: everyday granola « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a comment