spiced nuts

I forgot to tell you about a simply recipe that made an appearance at my party a few weeks ago: Spice Nuts.  I have always thought that the addition of an almond or a pistachio can enhance a recipe (or draw me to the recipe in the first place.) And I have a strong memory of buying some warm almonds from a street vendor near Columbia in NYC last May.  

When I was browsing around the internet for a few new things to had to my party memory, I was immediately drawn into the flavors of this easy recipe: cinnamon-check, brown sugar-check, butter-check, cumin and cayenne-oh man, check.  I decided to mix almonds (my favorite) with cashews and peanuts (other friends favorites).

The recipe is simply and came together while I was working on a few other things in the process. People don’t except the spice when they reach into a bowl of sugary-looking nuts, but I have to believe, that they were pleasantly surprised.

I just went to my last law school class-ever and am gearing up for my last finals sprint before the BarBri Marathon so I might not be posting anything too creative from the kitchen in the next week or so. I hope you are enjoying your first day of May. It is STILL chilly in the Chi. Spring where are you?

Spiced Nuts
From Emeril via The Kitchen Sink {where I ALWAYS find the good recipes to try-Thanks Kristin!}

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
4 cups unsalted mixed nuts [I used 2 cups almonds, 1 each of peanut and cashew]
4 tablespoons unsalted butter
6 tablespoons brown sugar [I only had dark on hand but I wish I would have used light]
1 teaspoon salt

Mix spices and reserve. Heat the nuts in a dry skillet and cook, stirring frequently, until they begin to toast, about 4 minutes. Add the butter and cook, stirring, until the nuts begin to darken, about 1 minute. Add the spices, the sugar, 1 tablespoon water and the salt and cook, stirring, until the sauce thickens and the nuts are glazed, about 5 minutes.

Remove the nuts from the heat and transfer to a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil, separating them with a fork. Let the nuts stand until cooled and the sugar has hardened, about 10 minutes. Store in an airtight container.

11 responses to “spiced nuts

  1. These bad boys are always a hit, aren’t they! We have a version that people love too. They’re hard to resist. Great picture!

  2. I’m only a fan of peanuts though!! But the mixture makes me feel like having the rest of them.. LOL

  3. pinkstripes

    YUM! Those sound delicious. And easy!

  4. So fun to find your blog! I live in a condo in MPLS, will be entering the studies this fall, and am training for half-marathons this summer… a few connections. Thanks for the spiced nut posting – it’s a really nice way to make the snacking portion of any dinner party homemade. love it!

  5. oh whoa, those look awesome!

  6. Mmmmm…this recipe sounds delicious! I just love Kristin’s blog, I always find so much inspiration in her posts.

    Your photos are lovely!

    Good luck with your finals, Whitney! You’re almost there…what an accomplishment!

  7. Gah, those photos are GORGE! Almost as gorge as the way the nuts tasted. I’m excited to have your recipe – I promise I won’t take cred for it when I serve it to my friends in Seattle. 🙂

  8. Thanks to everyone for stopping by!

    Andrea-Every time Kristin posts I find another thing I need to make!

    Wiggs-I already MISS YOUR FACE. Can’t wait for you to be back in the Chi.

  9. Those Look delicious, but peanuts have never been my favorite, so I think I will choose nuts without peanuts. Good luck on all of your exams.

  10. ohhhhhh yum. these nuts are the death of me. i will eat them and eat and eat and eat until they are finished. and then i will feel sick.
    but YUM.

  11. i guess we both liked this recipe 🙂

Leave a comment