bacon & pea risotto

Pea and Bacon Risotto

I meant to get this post up earlier in the week since most people are doing their 2009 in review posts.  I think I will get that one up tomorrow with a few resolutions/goals/thoughts for the next year and decade (crazy!).  One thing that did happen in 2009 was the end of Gourmet magazine.

Pea and Bacon Risotto

I was particularly disappointed because I had just started to really see the importance of this magazine and had only subscribed for a little over a year.  Ironically that year’s worth of magazines that cost me maybe $12 is now on the Gourmet site for $100 (does that turn anyone else’s stomach too?).

Pea and Bacon Risotto

However, a group quickly formed to keep the gourmet memory alive.  This month I went through the January archives and found a recipe for Bacon and Peas Risotto.  This recipe came together quickly on a weekday night after work and it was a nice change from just making a quick bowl of pasta.

Pea and Bacon Risotto

I hope that you have a wonderful New Year’s Eve.  I am currently cleaning and cooking to prep for a party at my apartment (much better than being out and about in the 15 degree snow of Chicago) which is including these mushrooms, a little spice and a new cocktail.  Happy 2010!

Bacon & Pea Risotto
Adapted from Gourmet: January 2009

For 2 healthy servings (plus a little for leftovers)

1 quart chicken broth, preferably homemade
Splash of Cooking Sherry
1/2 cup water
4 bacon slices, chopped
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
3/4 cup Arborio rice
2/3 cup frozen peas
1/4 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1/4 teaspoon grated lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

Bring broth and water to a simmer in a small saucepan.

Cook bacon in a small heavy saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring, until crisp. Transfer with a slotted spoon to a paper towel to drain.

Add garlic to bacon fat in pan and cook, stirring occasionally, until pale golden, about 1 minute. Add splash of cooking sherry to deglaze the pan. Add rice, stirring to coat.

Add 1/4 cup hot broth mixture and simmer briskly, stirring constantly, until broth is absorbed. Continue simmering and adding hot broth mixture, about 1/4 cup at a time, stirring frequently and letting each addition be absorbed before adding the next, until rice is just tender and creamy-looking but still al dente, 18 to 22 minutes. (Reserve leftover broth mixture.)

Add peas and cook, stirring occasionally, 2 minutes.

Stir in cheese, butter, zest, and juice. Thin risotto with some of reserved broth mixture if desired and season with salt and pepper. Top with bacon.

7 responses to “bacon & pea risotto

  1. I am really going to try this recipe!!

    Happy New Year!

    Jeremy’s 2009 review:

    jeremyshingles.wordpress.com

    2.342

  2. I love pea and bacon risotto – it was one of the first “fancy” dishes I remember my mom cooking for her friends when I was little. Hard to go wrong with sweet peas and salty bacon! Enjoy your party tonight!

  3. This looks delicious–I love bacon and peas together. Happy new year!

  4. This was my second choice for the Gourmet, Unbound challenge. I opted for Roast Chicken with Pancetta because I had a chicken in the fridge waiting to be roasted but this recipe is still on the counter. Maybe tonight! Thanks for sharing.

  5. I made this last winter and loved it!

    http://thatmuchfurtherham.blogspot.com/2009/02/bronson-arborio-rice.html

    Time to get my January Gourmet recipe up (if they’ll still accept admissions before the 15th!)

  6. bacon and pea risotto…does comfort food get any better than that. DROOL

  7. Happy New Year! (yes a bit late, sorry 🙂 ) I’m glad you’re starting it with bacon instead of wheatberries or lettuce, to be honest 😛

Leave a comment