Banana Date Bread

Andrea was right, this really is some of the best banana bread out there.  I was lucky enough to have my first loaf sent by Andrea herself, but thankfully, I have been able to make a few loafs on my own.  This recipe is also pretty healthy since it uses applesauce instead of oil/butter and sneaks in some white wheat flour.

The hardest part about the recipe is cutting up the dates. Dates have a pit so make sure to slice them in half, dig out the pit, then dice into little chunks. Dates are VERY sticky but really do lend a sweetness and an unexpected twist to banana bread. Use whatever apple you have around. I have used a granny smith (leftover from Sangria) and a braeburn with great success.

Bella Eats Banana Date Bread
(I simplified the recipe a little and just made everything in one bowl)

Ingredients:
2 very ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/2 cup turbinado sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup peeled, diced apple
6 medjool dates, chopped
1-1/4 cup white whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp sea salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350*.
In a large bowl, mix together mashed bananas, apple sauce, sugar and egg. Add diced apples and dates, mix. Add the dry ingredients (the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg) to the wet ingredients and mix until just blended.

Pour batter into a greased, nonstick bread pan.
Bake at 350* for 45 minutes. Place on cooling rack in pan for 5 minutes. Remove from pan and allow to cool for 10-15 minutes before slicing.

13 responses to “Banana Date Bread

  1. I’m so glad you made this and love it as much as I do! It is still one of my favorites. And, you’re so right, chopping the dates is the worst part. I always forget how long it takes but they make the bread so delicious!

  2. Love breads like this!! I add apricots to mine (and prunes to my mom’s… ewww). Banana bread always wins, IMHO.

  3. That’s some good lookin’ bread! I love when quickbread recipes use a lot of fruit – just gives such flavor depth and natural sweetness, you know?

  4. I have about ten million extra-ripe bananas in my freezer right now, I think I’ll make this recipe to use them up. Plus, I LOVE dates! And the addition of apples must keep this really soft and moist.
    Thank you!
    M

  5. pinkstripes

    YUM! Looks and sounds delicious.

  6. The banana bread looks delicious!

    Great blog!

  7. That looks so delicious!

    I think I’m going to try your recipe later today after going to the store!

    If you get chance check out some of my great banana bread recipes on my blog!

    Thanks
    Laura

  8. That bread looks fab! I have some bananas browning, maybe I’ll try making this:D

  9. Pingback: a homemade life’s banana bread « Whitney in Chicago

  10. Pingback: Primo Recipes Blog » A Homemade Life’s Banana Bread

  11. Made this banana bread twice already. Have to say it tastes amazing! I added some walnuts for an extra kick and some psyllium husk for extra fiber.

  12. Pingback: black and spotty « Whitney in Chicago

  13. Pingback: Sometimes I Forget | Lauren Loves Good Food

Leave a comment